New Overclocking Rig...

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

New Overclocking Rig...

Postby SkyWlf77 » Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:36 am

Hi all...

I now have my new rig put together and I've been playing with overclocking it, but have run into a brick wall. Here's the setup:

MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum w/Mirror-Lapped Evercool NB Copper Cooler
AMD Athlon64 3200+ 2.0GHz w/2000MHz HyperTransport
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro Mirror-Lapped
ATI X800GTO AGP 8x 256MB
1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 CL3 RAM (3-3-3-8 2T timings)

I started with stock settings and these locks in place:

AGP Locked at 66MHz (even though my card will run at 73MHz, I'm not pushing it yet)
PCI Locked at 33MHz (no PCI cards currently installed, so I guess this doesn't really matter, but I figured it was safer this way)
DDR Locked at 200MHz (effective 400MHz)
HyperTransport Multiplier Locked at 4x

Here are the settings I am at:

225MHz FSB
--2.25GHz Processor Speed
--900MHz HyperTransport Speed (effective 1800MHz--underclocked due to the 4x multiplier)

Going any higher than this results in freezing during boot. Here are the settings I can adjust:

CPU Core Voltage (+3.3%, +5.0%--Current is 1.37V)
HyperTransport Multiplier (3x, the current 4x or 5x)
FSB (200 up to 300)
AGP Bus Speed (66 up to 100)

Any recommendations as to what I should do to get a little more juice out of this machine?

My temps at the current 2.25GHz setting are 40*C idle/49*C load.

Thanks,
Jason
My Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=48800

System 1: 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4, 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM, 1x500GB HDD & 1x1TB HDD, Palit GTS 250 1GB
System 2: 3.0GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR2-800 RAM, 120GB HDD, BFG 7800GTX 256MB
System 3: Dual-533MHz PowerMac G4 Digital Audio, 1.5GB RAM, 120GB HDD
SkyWlf77
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby ajrox » Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:10 pm

everything looks good except for locking the memory bus.
i would change the memory speed to 333mhz or PC2700.
then try your over clock. if you get higher but hiyt the wall again, drop the memory even slower to PC2100 mem.

i have my PC over clocked with the FSB at 300mhz. i tried locking what ever i could but it never worked past 230 or so on the FSB. by setting my memory manually to PC2100, i can hit 312mhz FSB. then i hit the wall myself. my memory will run at PC3200 speeds by underclocking the memory in the BIOS to PC2100 then upping the FSB to 300mhz.
so it all adds up right in the end result. i think the problem is that the memory bus is a direct extension of the FSB and the 2 have a closer relation than i ever thought.
i think that by "locking" the memory speed to 400mhz {200mhz respectively}, you end up with instabilities due to the BIOS trying to come up with a divider that will keep the memory at 400mhz {200mhz respectivly} when your changing the FSB.
by under clocking the memory, you are relying on a fixed multiplier to handle the memory speed and the divider never has to change. so as you up the FSB your raising the memory speed up as well. but because you under clocked the memory, your just creeping up to the rated speed.
wow, i have wrote another novel. heh heh heh. hope this helps anyway,
AJ
coming soon to an over clockers dream near you:
EVGA 790i tri SLI
intel core2 quad 9550
6gb G.SKILL DDR3 16000
3X EVGA 8800gts video cards
water cooled fo sho
the rest when i get paid
PS... im gonna break 4ghz easily....
ajrox
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1451
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 4:04 pm
Location: las vegas nevada

Postby SkyWlf77 » Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:15 pm

Hi, AJ...

Well, I think I'm going to sit where I am at for about a week. I have a set of Kingston HyperX PC3200 2x1GB modules coming for this machine that I think will work much better than what I'm using now. They are rated for 2-3-2-6 1T at 400MHz, so loosening the timings and cutting back to 2T should allow them to overclock quite well unlike the generic crap I have in there now.

Cutting back to 333MHz with what I have now only got me about 5MHz on the FSB and impacted my gaming performance more than I'd like, so I put it back where it was.

I'm thinking i might be hitting a wall because of the Core Voltage of the CPU? I might try to up that one step and see where I get then...

Thanks for your input and I'll put it to use once I get the new memory. For now, I'm going to see where I can get with what I have to work with without impacting my gaming performance. Overclocking is supposed to make it better, not worse...LOL.

Thanks,
Jason
My Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=48800

System 1: 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4, 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM, 1x500GB HDD & 1x1TB HDD, Palit GTS 250 1GB
System 2: 3.0GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR2-800 RAM, 120GB HDD, BFG 7800GTX 256MB
System 3: Dual-533MHz PowerMac G4 Digital Audio, 1.5GB RAM, 120GB HDD
SkyWlf77
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Illinois


Return to Overclockers Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron