The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 11:56 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:40 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:35 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Trapped inside a virtual machine.
Streaming video from networked computer to telly over CAT5 - I might just have to make me one of these.

http://karpus.wordpress.com/2007/03/07/ ... -quiet-pc/

_________________
Home server: Asus P5Q Pro, Core2Quad, 8GB DDR2, ENGTX260 876MB, Zalman 800w, Antec P180 case, 2x1TB and 2x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F1, Windows 7 64-bit, etc

Work server: HP ProLiant ML350 G6, hexacore Xeon E5645 2.4GHz (12 logical cores), 16GB DDR3, 3x300GB SAS RAID5, Server 2008 R2, nVidia GT560Ti 1GB for Hyper-V RemoteFX acceleration


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 8:52 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:32 pm
Posts: 172
Location: NE
quite an idea, may have to also :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:48 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:35 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Trapped inside a virtual machine.
Here's another site which also has the RJ45-RCA thing (which I'm building up now), but I found an interesting VGA-RJ45 conversion among others...

_________________
Home server: Asus P5Q Pro, Core2Quad, 8GB DDR2, ENGTX260 876MB, Zalman 800w, Antec P180 case, 2x1TB and 2x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F1, Windows 7 64-bit, etc

Work server: HP ProLiant ML350 G6, hexacore Xeon E5645 2.4GHz (12 logical cores), 16GB DDR3, 3x300GB SAS RAID5, Server 2008 R2, nVidia GT560Ti 1GB for Hyper-V RemoteFX acceleration


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:41 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 4:04 pm
Posts: 1451
Location: las vegas nevada
there are lots of things that will run over cat5/5e/6 that will blow your mind.
there are 4 pairs that you can utilize to your hearts content. so if your gonna run a cable in your house for any reason or any type of cable....always...ALWAYS....run a couple of CAT cables. trust me, you will use them....
it comes down to the twists in the pairs, how many twists per inch, how the entire cable twists inside the jacket and the cable type. if you have the option, always use the highest rated cable ( yes there is cat7, it runs at 10gb }. why you might ask? the amount of clean signal that can pass at 328 feet. if you use cat3 because it was 4 bucks for a 1000 foot box, dont be upset when it doesnt perform as expected. buy the good stuff and it will pay off.
my recommendation, pull in 2 cat6 cables with everything else you might want to run. just roll up an extra 4 feet at the terminated end of your run. this way, if you decide to utilize the extra cables, you have the length you need.

_________________
coming soon to an over clockers dream near you:
EVGA 790i tri SLI
intel core2 quad 9550
6gb G.SKILL DDR3 16000
3X EVGA 8800gts video cards
water cooled fo sho
the rest when i get paid
PS... im gonna break 4ghz easily....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group