The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:48 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 6:51 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
I have a one of these [I think]
Duron 1600
in a Matsonic MS8137C+ mobo, with 512Mb DDR PC2100.
Running be-yew-tifully... but I've just noticed that the first POST screen says I have an 'unknow CPU AMD 1900+' :o

I'm fairly certain I have the settings correct - and I don't want to go pulling things to pieces on the basis of 'if it ain't broken don't try to fix it'
Is it going to cause problems later on? The temps are fine - ~30 C for the CPU on a restart.
TIA

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:40 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 4:04 pm
Posts: 1451
Location: las vegas nevada
well...if it ain't broke...dont fix it.
i would benchmark it with sisoft sandra and see what you get. as long as it doesn't fall below comparable systems at that speed, i would leave it.
a true, sure fire way, run it stock and then benchmark. then run it OC'ed and benchmark. as long as you see a better score when OC'ed, then your not flooding the data pipe with errors.
if it scores lower, then go with the stock speed as your running better.
post your results, good luck
AJ
PS, just bench the CPU and the memory as it is what will be stressed.

_________________
coming soon to an over clockers dream near you:
EVGA 790i tri SLI
intel core2 quad 9550
6gb G.SKILL DDR3 16000
3X EVGA 8800gts video cards
water cooled fo sho
the rest when i get paid
PS... im gonna break 4ghz easily....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:58 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
It's recognised as an Athlon XP 1600 by Windows [it might be - I just thought it was a Duron], but I don't know how to get BIOS to recognise it properly.

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:11 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
Probably need a BIOS update. I know there are some boards that will run with unrecognized CPU's but produce errors on POST. evasive had one a while back that complained of no microcode (i.e. he installed a Celeron in a system that only liked P4's)...

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 5:13 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Yep. Now I finally have a socket478 P4 I sold off the board...

:lol:

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 4:42 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
evasive wrote:
Yep. Now I finally have a socket478 P4 I sold off the board...

:lol:
lol..

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group