The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:32 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:49 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 12:10 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Hyde Park, NY
It seem like I can not post a long url. The url warps around and is not seen as a url but just text. There seems to be a limit as to how long a url can be and still be seen as a link.

Here is an example of what I mean.
Bios updatePage

To me the above url coding is correct and it should show as a link with the title Bios update page but it does not.

However this one will show as a url

Archive page

Ok do you understand the problem? Is there anyway of getting around this problem?

I have tried to copying the url from the preview page, thinking there might be an embedded cartridge return but this did not work.

I tried searching the forum for answer but did not find one.
Any suggestion?

_________________
SeeYa

Help yourself by helping others.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 12:38 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
It's because it has parentheses. The PhP code doesn't recognize that as valid URL characters. Post it out and you see where it stops.

http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWeb/Downloads/ ... VXMS(V1.0A)&MenuID=45&LanID=0

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:49 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 12:10 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Is there any work around for urls with parentheses?

Also what is the deal with html? In my profile I selected it but when I go to post something is says it is off?

Is html disabled?

_________________
SeeYa

Help yourself by helping others.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:50 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
TiYogi wrote:
Is there any work around for urls with parentheses?

Also what is the deal with html? In my profile I selected it but when I go to post something is says it is off?

Is html disabled?


By default the forum has HTML off. And, no way around it until PhP puts out a version that fixes the issue.

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:50 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
You can always go to TinyURL.com and have the long URL resized to fit and work. As an example, I grabbed the above URL and now after going to Tiny, it looks like this: http://tinyurl.com/uy4u7

8)

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group