The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 9:29 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
That Quantum is a pig speedwise. Replace it or waste your 512MB on it.

I wasn't aware you had that much goodies planned. Yeah 300W or 350W will do nicely. I'll check your other ost.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:46 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Dover, NH USA
evasive wrote:
That Quantum is a pig speedwise. Replace it or waste your 512MB on it.

I wasn't aware you had that much goodies planned. Yeah 300W or 350W will do nicely. I'll check your other post.


This OLD Compaq Presario 2510, 437VX NB, PIIX3 SB
Totally Trash, thats my current system, the one I am typing from right now...
PDT_Armataz_01_02 PDT_Armataz_01_02 PDT_Armataz_01_02 PDT_Armataz_01_02 PDT_Armataz_01_02

Its Original HDD was a 5 1/4, Quantum Yuk..
I replaced it with a 7.5(total Available AfterFormat+SwapFile(250MB))
Maxtor YEA!! lol
Using NORTON System works 2001 (Specificly DiskDR.+SpeedDisk)
I have manged to keep this system/HDD running
in the best possible condition.
(This is a piece of Junk PDT_Armataz_01_02 )


What do you reccomend for replacement Items
Models, Brands Etc.. :)

I mentioned Max possible ATI Radeon 9550 128 AGP as MAX
I wanted Corsair for the RAM.., but the cost of there OLD SDRAM is WAY
too expansive,
like close to a $100 for a 128MB DIMM I think thats what I read.


From the remaining brands could you reccomend a Brand,
that is really reliable.

AS for the HDD a Maxtor is the way to go i only Hope that I can find one
NOT to big... 30, 40 GB MAX...

If its too large it will eat too much resources to maintain...


Lets not for get the cooling Issues, I have not intention of skipping this
very important issue

Needs to Case Fans:
1 - Intake
1 - Outake

new Socket 370 CPU Cooler (Would be better).

and a New PS,
I know what most do not,
That the most important part of a PC is the Power Supply.
:arrow: "It is the LIFE LINE of the System" :) :!:


anything else you can think of would be most apperciated...
Thanks Evasive.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EDIT: (July 12, 2006 @ 7:12PM EST)

Almost for got...

The chipset Coolers lol...
The Mobob has the required Mounting wholes in diagonal Positions to the Intel 815 NB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:53 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Wow. Give me a day or two to think of something... What's your total budget?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:44 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Dover, NH USA
lol lol
Budget lol
PrettyMuch NOExistent...
Depends on WHat I can get over time...
These "Upgrades" are more a dream... :(
Depends On what I get from fixing the CNS-Custom PC..
Should be $120
$50 for Fixs/Work/Labor
$50 for GFX card I have available.... ATI Radeon 7500 64MB PCI
$20 for Cleaning Costs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:02 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Dover, NH USA
Some Upgrade questions have come up on this PC...

A) Can it Handle a SATA or SCSI Adapter?
I was looking at getting a
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 8MB IDE but I couldn't find any
so a SATA Version is need or
I will have to go with a Western Digital WD800JB 80GB 8MB 7200RPM

And any Low cost Recomended (SATA I or II) Adapters
that will work in a PCI v2.2 Mobo



B) Could I get a Radeon 9600 128MB AGP 4x/8x to work in it in 4x Mode?


I put a Antec TP2-430W in it to Power it up ( :o a bit Over Kill)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:09 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
1) Not sure. I'm still going over this myself if I'm going to spend some money on a SATA/IDE PCI add-in controller card for migrations between systems. Might come in handy one day.

It most certainly can handle a SCSI adapter, even a Compaq Smart Array 221 controller. I've also used a Adaptec 2940UW and I might have used a Symbios/LSI Logic based card too. I know this from my own D815EEA board. Got any names/models I should test with? I've got some PCI ones lying around.

2) I've seen a hardware report with both the D815EEA and a Radeon 9600 256MB card listed. No mention of it being AGP or PCI though, so I want to see at least one more before I give you the OK on this.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:24 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
2) this seems to have worked:
http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtop ... ntry283517
any which way a 4x/8x AGP 9600 on a D815EEA.

Now for the SATA stuff.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:36 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
1) You're good to go on SATA too:
http://hardware.mcse.ms/archive12-2005-8-218718.html

appears to be working the same way as a SCSI controller would do, just the twist of loading the SATA drivers during install and the card needs to be placed in the first PCI slot (that might have been fixed in a later bios revision, I fought with this board and a SCSI adapter, aaah memories...).

Any brand/chipset will do I guess as long as it's PCI 2.2 compliant.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:24 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Dover, NH USA
Hey.. :) Thanks Evasive,

You said I was good to go on SATA, but I take it SATAII is out of the Question..
Most of those adapters looked like the Required PCI BUS (v2.3)
So SATA I is ok with the
"Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST380815AS 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB-Cache SATA2 3.0Gbps HDD"
in a SATA I mode?

As for the SCSI Card you mentioned...
Adaptec - AHA-2940UW Ultra Wide adapter - Support
Thats some nice Support for it :)
It seems to be 68-Pin & 50-Pin only :(




Here's is some more info.
NEWEGG:Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST380815AS 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM $45
I need a SATA PCI Card for less than $27, I have only $78 to work with at the moment.
(Though, there is no Reviews on it yet??)
Newegg:Rosewill RC-205 Silicon Image SATA PCI Low profile Controller Card (Non RAID and All SATA Port) - Retail
This was the Cheapest I found? :roll:


eBay:Crucial - Radeon 9600 SE AGP
eBay:NEW - ATI / SAPPHIRE Radeon 9600SE 128MB DDR AGP8X
These's were the Gfx Cards I was looking at to get ( :wink: )

Here are 2 SCSI HDD I found but they both appear to use a 80-pin Interface??? :(
Seagate:Cheetah® 15K.4 Ultra320 SCSI 146-GB Hard Drive - ST3146854LC
eBay:Seagate Cheetah 146 GB 15K SCSI Hard Drive Brand New

ebay:Maxtor Atlas 15K II 73 GB Ultra 320 SCSI HD (Brand New)
eBay:Search Results for 'SCSI Adaptec 320'

Could you take a look at the SATA 1 & 2 Adapters Available at Newegg?
And see if you see a Good Brand at a good Price


Last edited by joe_devore on Fri Feb 23, 2007 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:39 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
no I won't. Get that Crucial card, they once listed it as a compatible upgrade for the D815EEA so I know that one will work. The Sapphire I can't comment on, they don't list 4x anywhere in the specs.

Waiting for your SATA2 controller card.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group