The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 11:59 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Time Zones
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 6:08 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 2:06 pm
Posts: 708
Location: Tyler, Texas
I could be mistaken, but I believe the time zone difference are a bit off, by an hour. In my profile I have the time zone set to GMT -5, but unless I am mistaken it acts as though it is GMT -6. As my PC's clock says 10:05 AM as I write this, but the forum says 9:05.

_________________
Fold Team 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 9:21 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14299
Location: Maine
The forum does not recognize daylight savings time....

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:32 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 2:06 pm
Posts: 708
Location: Tyler, Texas
well that answers that question. May I ask why?

_________________
Fold Team 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:13 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14299
Location: Maine
times are based on GMT which apparently does not observe daylight savings time.....

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:11 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
DST (Daylight Savings Time) is not used everywhere. That is so we can take advantage of the earlier sunrise to do work chores. Some areas do not observe the DST change in the USA and elsewhere. The GMT (Greenwich Mean Time) is the official start/end of a day's course. At the Equator, there is no need to switch time function.. but at the polar extremes, there may be need.. as there is up to 3 months of 24 hour daylight during the year. Indeed, "Monday" may be a very long day, at the polar outpost!!!! (Geez.. been here two weeks, and it is still Monday!!) :wink:

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:02 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
This problem has been here ever since the new forum software was implemented. I do not know why. It's not just DST isn't working, the time is always a bit off...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:34 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
If the servers are on 24/7, then there are available links to the Atomic Clock function at local time-standard labs. Many newer TVs, VCRs, watches and clocks pick up the 'free' signal to maintain time standards within a few seconds per day. The real-time clock in any computer can be off by as much as 5% per day! It is a PLL type VDO setup, and it must have an exact power source to maintain better than 1% accuracy. There is no provision with computers to monitor the AC line frequency as with clock radios or other devices.
Try this little "atom" of reference.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:30 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14299
Location: Maine
evasive wrote:
This problem has been here ever since the new forum software was implemented. I do not know why. It's not just DST isn't working, the time is always a bit off...
That is true... Also I remember Mobocop stating the DB server and the http servers are in different locations IIRC.

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 2:28 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
Why they've kept this silly convention developed for the duration of WWI is beyond me...

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group