Quake 3 Problems...

Like to play games? This is the place to talk about it.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Quake 3 Problems...

Postby Grime » Mon Nov 11, 2002 9:07 pm

I just built a new system (see specs in signature), and I have almost ironed all the wrinkles out. The only problem I am still having is when I play Quake 3 multiplayer (have not checked single player). About 5 - 10 minutes into the game it just closes, and I am left stranded on my desktop wondering what happened to all those beautiful frags I had acumulated during those 5 - 10 minutes. Also, occasionally the screen will flicker (turn off and then turn back on) when I am viewing something in Kazaa or Internet Explorer.

Please note I have not yet bought the WD 120Gb HD, Radeon 9700 Pro, or SB Audigy Gamer listed in the specs below. I am currently using a Maxtor 10Gb, Kyro 64mb AGP card, and onboard sound instead. I think my problems might be rooted in the Kyro card. What do you think? Do I need to trash this $30 temp. card and make my long term purchase in order to fix this problem?
Windows XP Professional w/SP2
Abit IC7-MAX3
P4 2.6Ghz 800Mhz FSB w/HT
1gb Mushkin Level II PC4000
ATI Radeon 9800 XT
SB Audigy Gamer
2x WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA w/ RAID-0
Sony DRU530A DVD-RW+RW
Zalman CNPS 7000-cu CPU Cooler
Grime
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Port Aransas, Tx

Postby Tolemac » Mon Nov 11, 2002 10:47 pm

Get rid of that Kyro card NOW! :wink:

Also, check your temps right after it does this to make sure that is not contributing to the problem. 8)
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby Grime » Mon Nov 11, 2002 11:20 pm

Any progs for figuring out the AGP temp, or am I on my own?
Windows XP Professional w/SP2
Abit IC7-MAX3
P4 2.6Ghz 800Mhz FSB w/HT
1gb Mushkin Level II PC4000
ATI Radeon 9800 XT
SB Audigy Gamer
2x WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA w/ RAID-0
Sony DRU530A DVD-RW+RW
Zalman CNPS 7000-cu CPU Cooler
Grime
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Port Aransas, Tx

Postby Tolemac » Mon Nov 11, 2002 11:55 pm

Not the AGP, but the CPU temp is what I want to know. Overheated CPU will shut a mobo down but quick and can cause screen flickers as well. Use Motherboard Monitor 5 to check your temps/voltages/fan speeds. Great prog and it's free. 8)
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby Grime » Tue Nov 12, 2002 12:03 am

Ok, I downloaded it and the temp seems fine, and fan speed is ok (those I checked with the asus probe too) although the fan drops below 2200 occasionally. The voltages though....hmmmm. I don't THINK this is normal:

Averages:

Core 0 1.55
Core 1 1.56
+3.3 3.28
+5 5.10
+12 11.55
-12 -11.86
-5.00 -5.06

Seem a little off to me... am I correct?
Windows XP Professional w/SP2
Abit IC7-MAX3
P4 2.6Ghz 800Mhz FSB w/HT
1gb Mushkin Level II PC4000
ATI Radeon 9800 XT
SB Audigy Gamer
2x WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA w/ RAID-0
Sony DRU530A DVD-RW+RW
Zalman CNPS 7000-cu CPU Cooler
Grime
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Port Aransas, Tx

Postby GillianTan » Tue Nov 12, 2002 12:28 am

Looks okay. I think the fault is in your card
My NEW 3dMark score http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4955820
Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent, and reboot. Order shall return...
GillianTan
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 1:12 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Postby Tolemac » Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:08 am

Those voltages are well within tolerances. It's the Kyro crap. :roll:
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge


Return to Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests