The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 5:52 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 10:39 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
more php coding stuff.........

I am trying a few different things (one of them being a homemade "workaround" for something I could not figure out myself)....

Project 1 - I am wanting to use one .txt file and have all the variables listed on the .txt file and have it "parsed" so that it functions like a include file... Too vague?

I tried figuring it out but cannot figure out how to get a .txt file read so that the variables get found/read...

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 12:14 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
Using this format:
Code:
include ('includes/data.txt');


does not parse properly. It just prints the data from the txt file in the top of the page instead of plugging the data into the proper location(s). :?

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 10:06 am 
Offline
Drunken Master

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 8854
Location: Fresno
this is really hard to troubleshoot with info provided.

first thing I can think of is that you are not turning php parser on in the page.

<?php


?>

Second thing is that it is better to name the page .php instead of txt. Kind of a php coding standard to do so.

_________________
Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted - Albert Einstien


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 10:51 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
MoboCop wrote:
this is really hard to troubleshoot with info provided.

first thing I can think of is that you are not turning php parser on in the page.

<?php


?>

Second thing is that it is better to name the page .php instead of txt. Kind of a php coding standard to do so.
ahh, ok... BTW the other thread in here has all the gruesome code that involves the "workaround" that I mangaged to do. Not everything is working as it should (hence the PM's I have been sending). Will take a peek at the references you provided and see what I can come up with... :wink:

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group