Will this mobo support my processor?

The place to post if you are having trouble identifying your motherboard.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Will this mobo support my processor?

Postby theslinky » Sat Jun 01, 2002 8:20 am

Hi,

I'm planning on getting a micro ATX mobo w/ AGP. I found a reasonable good one at newegg:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.a ... 487&DEPA=1

It's the MB CHAINTECH 7SID 735 MICRO ATX RETAIL

I have a Intel PIII 800mhz chip. Will this work with the MB mobo?

And I'm confused on what the Socket numbers/letters mean. Why does a processor have a Socket # attached to it? Is there any site that'll explain this to me and what socket common chips are?

-sridhar
theslinky
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 04, 2002 12:01 am
Location: Berkeley, CA

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sat Jun 01, 2002 12:16 pm

Common chips? No offence but you sound a bit novice at computers. Pretty much every generation in processor technology spawned a new processor design.

486socket: 168pins. 5V. 486SX, 486DX
socket1: 169pins. 5V. OverDrive 486SXODP, OverDrive 486DXODP
socket2: 238pins. 5V. 486SX, 486DX, 486DX2, 486DX4 OverDrive, Pentium OverDrive
socket3: 237pins. 3.3/5V. 486SX, 486DX, 486DX2, 486DX4, Pentium OverDrive, 5x86
socket4: 273pins. 5V. Pentium 60-66, Pentium OverDrive
socket5: 320pins. 3.3V. Pentium 75-133 MHz, Pentium OverDrive
socket7: 321pins. 2.5-3.3V. Pentium 75-200 MHz, Pentium OverDrive, Pentium MMX, Pentium MMX OverDrive, K5, 6x86, K6, 6x86MX
socket8: 387pins. 3.1/3.3V. Pentium Pro, Pentium Pro OverDrive, Pentium II OverDrive
socket370: 370pins. Celeron
slot1: 242leads. 2.8-3.3V. Pentium II/III, Celeron, Pentium Pro (with Socket 8 on daughtercard)
slot2: 330leads. Pentium III, Xeon

The ones excluded from above are Slot A, used in the Classic K7 Athlon, the Socket A or 462, used in current Athlon designs including Duron, T-Bird and AthlonXP, Socket 423 - First Generation Pentium 4, Socket 478 - Second Generation Pentium 4 processor.


To answer your question though, your Intel chip will not run on the 7SID

Product Page:
http://www.chaintech.com.tw/PRODUCTI/ma ... A/7SID.htm

The Chaintech board supports Athlon processors, not Intel processors. You need a board that supports Pentium III Socket 370 processors.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Aussie » Sun Jun 02, 2002 3:34 am

I have a Intel PIII 800mhz chip.


You need a board that supports Pentium III Socket 370 processors.


Unless, of course, his PIII 800 is a slot 1 processor. :lol:

The Pentium III 800MHz was produced in both Slot 1 (SECC2) and socket 370 (FC-PGA) formats as well as 100MHz and 133MHz FSB versions.

We would certainly need more info than that provided to be able to recommend a suitable motherboard.

Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sun Jun 02, 2002 10:47 am

Unless, of course, his PIII 800 is a slot 1 processor.

True, almost completely forgot about Slot1 versions.... :?
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh


Return to Motherboard Identification Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests