The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I/O Shields
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2002 8:46 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:19 am
Posts: 73
Location: Happy Valley
I just bought an ASUS P4S8X mobo and plan on putting it in an old ATX case I have. Since the ASUS mobo has many new I/O ports like onboard sound/LAN and Firewire built in, the rear I/O shield differs from that of what is built into the case. Is there any easy way to replace the old I/O shield or am I going to have to get out the Dremel?

_________________
--Diplomacy is the art of saying "nice doggy" until you can find a rock.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I/O Shields
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2002 5:48 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 4:43 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Sema4MK wrote:
I just bought an ASUS P4S8X mobo and plan on putting it in an old ATX case I have. Since the ASUS mobo has many new I/O ports like onboard sound/LAN and Firewire built in, the rear I/O shield differs from that of what is built into the case. Is there any easy way to replace the old I/O shield or am I going to have to get out the Dremel?


My Asus A7V333 Mobo came with its own I/O shield (a rather flimsy one at that, but it did come with it), I wonder why yours didn't include one.

_________________
-Starbuck
Visit my Homepage and Ben 10 Games here
Hey I'm a GEEK and I'm proud of it!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:52 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:19 am
Posts: 73
Location: Happy Valley
Actually my P4S8X mobo did come with one, but my concern is with putting it in my old ATX case.

The old I/O shield is built into the case and am confused with what they want me to do with the new one.

_________________
--Diplomacy is the art of saying "nice doggy" until you can find a rock.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2002 6:13 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 4:43 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Sema4MK wrote:
Actually my P4S8X mobo did come with one, but my concern is with putting it in my old ATX case.

The old I/O shield is built into the case and am confused with what they want me to do with the new one.


Hmmmm, I can only think that you would have to cut it out and find some way to apply the new I/O shield. You probably have an older or more generic case that doesn't have swappable I/O shields. Are you sure its directly attached, and not just clipped in some way? My case had the same kind of I/O shield as my Mobo (its a Lian-Li though :wink: ), except with different slots for ports (My mobo has a built in sound chip). If you cut it out to the size of you're old one (make the fit a little tight, if its too tight, you can always sand off some more. But if it's too lose, you're kind of screwed :P ).

_________________
-Starbuck
Visit my Homepage and Ben 10 Games here
Hey I'm a GEEK and I'm proud of it!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group