The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 6:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:12 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 8:47 pm
Posts: 879
Location: Pennsylvania
http://www.ocia.net/articles/6800/6800.shtml


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:19 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
Wow, I think that's it. I just decided. I've been thinking about doing a new A64 build soon. But, my current CPU is already really powerful and buying a whole 6800GT for this rig would be a waste because my next rig will be PCIe. Now, I'll just buy a vanilla 6800 and go from there.

Nice article!

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:38 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 7:38 pm
Posts: 3696
Location: Rural Massachusetts
THey got the pipes etc, but they didnt get the core speed or the memory speed as high, still great results!

_________________
"We must embrace pain and burn it as fuel for our journey."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:58 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 8:47 pm
Posts: 879
Location: Pennsylvania
I figured members here would appreciate that article.
To those who are interested, two of these 6800's can be SLI'ed. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:53 pm 
Eh, why not just get a 6600GT and overclock that? It performs the same as a 6800 and is 100 bucks cheaper


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 2:27 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
HollowPoint69 wrote:
It performs the same as a 6800 and is 100 bucks cheaper


Vanilla 6800 is $270 and with this you can unlock 4 pipes and OC. Look at the performance graphs and you'll see that the 6600GT can't get that far.

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:22 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 3:54 am
Posts: 1062
Location: Midlands, UK
Wow - that is a seriously cool article.

I'm hopefully going to get a 6800 for my own PC. Looing at the link provided, it seems that it is fairly straight-forward to OC it, so I may have to give it a try.

Just as a matter of interest, however, I need to ask the following:

1. If you OC the card (and hence invalidate the warranty) and something goes wrong, can you sent it for an RMA? If you do, will it be obvious what I've done to it and would an RMA be declined?

2. If you OC the card using the .bat method as described in the link - is it possible to restore original settings using a similar batch file?

Cheers,
Dan.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:37 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 8:47 pm
Posts: 879
Location: Pennsylvania
gutt3d wrote:
Wow - that is a seriously cool article.

I'm hopefully going to get a 6800 for my own PC. Looing at the link provided, it seems that it is fairly straight-forward to OC it, so I may have to give it a try.

Just as a matter of interest, however, I need to ask the following:

1. If you OC the card (and hence invalidate the warranty) and something goes wrong, can you sent it for an RMA? If you do, will it be obvious what I've done to it and would an RMA be declined?

2. If you OC the card using the .bat method as described in the link - is it possible to restore original settings using a similar batch file?

Cheers,
Dan.


when that .bat file is executed, what gets changed? Is it how the video card looks to the computer or is it how the computer looks at the video card?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:45 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
The BIOS in the card is probably modded. They will know when you send it in. If you're going to OC something, be ready to handle any responsibilities there after. Comes with it.

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 9:35 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 3:54 am
Posts: 1062
Location: Midlands, UK
In theory it should be possible to create a similar .bat file to reset the BIOS to the default settings, no?

Is there any way to read the default settings of the card before changing them? That way you could make a note of the settings before you update them, and use the .bat file to put them back as they were if anything goes wrong...

:?:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group