Unlocking/Overclocking the 6800

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Unlocking/Overclocking the 6800

Postby Vito Andolini » Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:12 am

Vito Andolini
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Postby Sabrewings » Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:19 am

Wow, I think that's it. I just decided. I've been thinking about doing a new A64 build soon. But, my current CPU is already really powerful and buying a whole 6800GT for this rig would be a waste because my next rig will be PCIe. Now, I'll just buy a vanilla 6800 and go from there.

Nice article!
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA

Postby Davek804 » Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:38 am

THey got the pipes etc, but they didnt get the core speed or the memory speed as high, still great results!
"We must embrace pain and burn it as fuel for our journey."
Davek804
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3696
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 7:38 pm
Location: Rural Massachusetts

Postby Vito Andolini » Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:58 am

I figured members here would appreciate that article.
To those who are interested, two of these 6800's can be SLI'ed. :wink:
Vito Andolini
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Postby HollowPoint69 » Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:53 pm

Eh, why not just get a 6600GT and overclock that? It performs the same as a 6800 and is 100 bucks cheaper
HollowPoint69
 

Postby Sabrewings » Tue Jan 11, 2005 2:27 pm

HollowPoint69 wrote:It performs the same as a 6800 and is 100 bucks cheaper


Vanilla 6800 is $270 and with this you can unlock 4 pipes and OC. Look at the performance graphs and you'll see that the 6600GT can't get that far.
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA

Postby gutt3d » Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:22 am

Wow - that is a seriously cool article.

I'm hopefully going to get a 6800 for my own PC. Looing at the link provided, it seems that it is fairly straight-forward to OC it, so I may have to give it a try.

Just as a matter of interest, however, I need to ask the following:

1. If you OC the card (and hence invalidate the warranty) and something goes wrong, can you sent it for an RMA? If you do, will it be obvious what I've done to it and would an RMA be declined?

2. If you OC the card using the .bat method as described in the link - is it possible to restore original settings using a similar batch file?

Cheers,
Dan.
Image
gutt3d
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1062
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 3:54 am
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby Vito Andolini » Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:37 am

gutt3d wrote:Wow - that is a seriously cool article.

I'm hopefully going to get a 6800 for my own PC. Looing at the link provided, it seems that it is fairly straight-forward to OC it, so I may have to give it a try.

Just as a matter of interest, however, I need to ask the following:

1. If you OC the card (and hence invalidate the warranty) and something goes wrong, can you sent it for an RMA? If you do, will it be obvious what I've done to it and would an RMA be declined?

2. If you OC the card using the .bat method as described in the link - is it possible to restore original settings using a similar batch file?

Cheers,
Dan.


when that .bat file is executed, what gets changed? Is it how the video card looks to the computer or is it how the computer looks at the video card?
Vito Andolini
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Postby Sabrewings » Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:45 am

The BIOS in the card is probably modded. They will know when you send it in. If you're going to OC something, be ready to handle any responsibilities there after. Comes with it.
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA

Postby gutt3d » Wed Jan 12, 2005 9:35 am

In theory it should be possible to create a similar .bat file to reset the BIOS to the default settings, no?

Is there any way to read the default settings of the card before changing them? That way you could make a note of the settings before you update them, and use the .bat file to put them back as they were if anything goes wrong...

:?:
Image
gutt3d
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1062
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 3:54 am
Location: Midlands, UK

Next

Return to Overclockers Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests