database setup (MySQL)

Discuss all aspects of programming here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

database setup (MySQL)

Postby Toby B. » Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:45 pm

Here is what I am looking to do. I want to create a searchable database. I have a little experience with MySQL and PHP....

I would like to setup a database "motherboards" with 1 field named "spares", 1 field named "codename", and 1 field named "realname". I don't know exactly how to set this up, and have it so that I can add info preferably via the web.........

Once the database is setup I would like to have a search box on a webpage that a person could plug in a spare part number or a codename or real name (for a board), hit "search and that particular page would be produced...

Thanks
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Hardware Junkie » Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:25 am

Do you have MYSQL, PHP and Apache running on the same server?
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Toby B. » Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:05 pm

yes I do have all installed. The "backend" really doesn't matter, but the final product would be a database where a person could plug in a codename, spare part number, or a real name and get a web page.

Once the database is setup I would like to insert it into an existing webpage (like my existing index page on my site), and replace the drop down menu.....

Thanks
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Hardware Junkie » Wed Sep 15, 2004 4:51 pm

Toby B. wrote:yes I do have all installed. The "backend" really doesn't matter, but the final product would be a database where a person could plug in a codename, spare part number, or a real name and get a web page.

Once the database is setup I would like to insert it into an existing webpage (like my existing index page on my site), and replace the drop down menu.....

Thanks


There is no way to build or test the code without the back end in place.

Then you can use code like this:
http://www.phpfreaks.com/quickcode/Basi ... rch/12.php
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Toby B. » Wed Sep 15, 2004 5:54 pm

There is no way to build or test the code without the back end in place.
Yeah I know. Basically I am stuck on to set the database up.

Nothing too serious as this is a "learning experience" mostly for now.

Thanks for the link BTW...
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Hardware Junkie » Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:22 pm

I'm not a pro at MYSQL either, but I usually just search for the tutorials that are online.

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/CREATE_DATABASE.html
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby aj1pso » Wed Sep 15, 2004 7:48 pm

I kinda liked PHP/MySQL Programming for the Absolute Beginner
by Andy Harris. Very easy to read and follow. I havent read many books on the subject but that one seemed very good to learn with.

The ebook is all over the net. Not sure how legal that is though. :?
Image
aj1pso
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 8:08 pm
Location: Venezuela


Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests