Pleas help me, unknown Mainboard (Slot 1)

The place to post if you are having trouble identifying your motherboard.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Pleas help me, unknown Mainboard (Slot 1)

Postby highball » Sun May 26, 2002 3:02 am

Hello to all,

I need your help to identify my Mainboard, wich has not yet an BIOS Chip. Now some details:

- Slot 1
- 1 AGB Slot
- 4 PCI Slots
- 2 ISA Slots
- 3 DIMM Sockets
- IDE Onboard
- Sound Onboard (Yamaha XG)
- ATX Formfactor and Powerconnector
- 2 USB connectors
- 2 * COM, 1 * LPT
- Sound-Connector (MIDI, In, Out, Mic)
- I think it is a BX Board with VIA VT82C596B Southbridge (it supports 100 MHz FSB max
- No Vendor or Model Printed on the Board
- Two Sticker on last ISA Slot:
S/N : M9909119895
C0942103260
- "Year 2000 Compiliant" "AGP" printed in the middle
- 3 Plugs for Cooler connect
- "M101 198" is printed on the Board, but I dont know what this means?
- 2 ITE Chips in front of the PSI Slots
- A smal red LED behind the ISA Slots at the Panel Connectors

If a Photo of the Board will help you to identify it, I can post one or send it to you, please tell me (my Camera has no Batteries in the moment).

Thank very much

Jens
highball
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:19 am

Postby evasive » Sun May 26, 2002 7:04 am

Check the top of the bios chip for a CT-xxx number and please reply with that number.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Aussie » Sun May 26, 2002 7:09 am

M101 is usually present on Chaintech boards, not sure about a combo BX/VIA chipset board though. I think that you will find that the board is one or the other, either BX or VIA.

Here's some possibilities:-

Image
Chaintech CT-6VTA3

http://www.chaintech.com.tw/PRODUCTI/mainboar/slot1/6VTA3.htm


Image
Chaintech CT-6BTA

http://www.chaintech.com.tw/PRODUCTI/mainboar/slot1/6BTA.htm


Image
Chaintech CT-6BTA2

http://www.chaintech.com.tw/PRODUCTI/mainboar/slot1/6BTA2.htm

A quick refresh tells me that evasive is onto the Chaintech connection as well. :lol:



Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Postby highball » Sun May 26, 2002 7:30 am

Thanx a Lot, it is the Chaintech CT-6VTA3, my Problem is it has no BIOS Chip, does someone know wich one I need?

Thanx

Jens
highball
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:19 am

Postby Denniss » Sun May 26, 2002 7:42 am

Winbond 29C020 (256Kb Biosfile)
Winbond 29C011/EE011(128KB Biosfile)

Chips from Atmel or SST should work .
Denniss
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1577
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:01 am
Location: Around Hannover - Germany

Postby Aussie » Sun May 26, 2002 7:55 am

The CT-6VTA3 uses a 256Kb bios file.

http://www.chaintech.com.tw/ap/BIOS/model.asp?model=6VTA3&Submit=GO%21


Here's a couple of sites that may be able to help you with a new chip:-

http://www.flashbios.org/

http://www.badflash.com/


Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia


Return to Motherboard Identification Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests