The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:00 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: is this possible?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 1:14 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 5:43 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Ok, try to help me understand this diagram to see if this is possible, I need to know..

DSL Modem To wireless router
wireless router transmits to pc1 via wireless b pci adapter
pc1 uses ethernet port and a lan cable to connect to pc2
pc2 can use the lan cable from pc1 to use pc1's wireless connection
shared of course.

is it possible? I dont have the money for pc2 to have a wireless adapter, and it cannot go close to the router, space restriction. and a long cord is not an option

_________________
Cele 1.8ghz
1gb SD100
ati radeon 9200se
sb live 5
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:14 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Yes this is possible. You just need to set up PC1 as a router or share the network connection.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 5:44 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 5:43 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
and how is this done? I'm new to that networking component..

_________________
Cele 1.8ghz
1gb SD100
ati radeon 9200se
sb live 5
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:20 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Which Operating System(s) are we talking about?

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:00 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 5:43 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
both xp pro

_________________
Cele 1.8ghz
1gb SD100
ati radeon 9200se
sb live 5
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:15 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Network Setup Wizard on both machines should suffice. Just follow the instructions on screen.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:44 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 5:43 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
doesnt the network setup wizard need to be used from the xp cd?

_________________
Cele 1.8ghz
1gb SD100
ati radeon 9200se
sb live 5
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:26 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 11:18 pm
Posts: 2191
Location: Outworld
n30nx wrote:
doesnt the network setup wizard need to be used from the xp cd?


No, not on XP.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 7:06 am 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 5:43 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
but it can be run straight from the control panel one then?

_________________
Cele 1.8ghz
1gb SD100
ati radeon 9200se
sb live 5
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:45 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
You just go to Start --> Network Connections --> Network Setup Wizard.

or Start --> Control Panel --> Network Connections --> Network Setup Wizard.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group