MB supports 200 (66x3) to 333 (66x5). What is it please ?

The place to post if you are having trouble identifying your motherboard.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

MB supports 200 (66x3) to 333 (66x5). What is it please ?

Postby penbat2001 » Mon May 20, 2002 4:00 am

I have a MB on a computer a few years old. It currently has a Celeron 300MHz installed. Looking at the BIOS, the MB supports 200MHz (66x3) to 333 (66x5).

The MB has 3 memory slots. It had 32M RAM in the first slot and it accepted 256M of extra RAM in the second slot.

I need to identify the MB because I am hoping to find a BIOS upgrade. I have a spare Celeron 400MHz so i am hoping to upgrade.

So can someone tell me what the MB might be and also where i could find a BIOS upgrade ?

Thanks

David
penbat2001
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:47 am

Postby evasive » Mon May 20, 2002 4:27 am

Well. You could try to post some numbers. What markings are there in white ink on the board itself or on stickers?

When starting your system, you will see a string in the lower left corner, hit the Pause/Break key on your keyboard, please write down the complete string, hit Enter to continue.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby penbat2001 » Mon May 20, 2002 4:45 am

I had quite a good look at the MB and could see any useful Identification numbers.

Hitting Break upon booting gives the following:

07/14/1998 - i440BX-ITE867-2A69KV3FC-00

Thanks

David
penbat2001
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:47 am

Postby penbat2001 » Mon May 20, 2002 4:47 am

Whoops, I meant i could NOT see any useful identification numbers on the MB.
penbat2001
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:47 am

Postby Denniss » Mon May 20, 2002 6:06 am

V3 indicates Vtech/Pcpartner Mainboard .
Search for the Board-ID number like this : 35-8802-25
Website is www.pcpartner.com
Denniss
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1577
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:01 am
Location: Around Hannover - Germany

Postby Aussie » Mon May 20, 2002 7:10 am

Image
PcPartner B X A 8 2 8 D.

PCB ID 35-8828-XX.

Bios string (2Mbit bios version) 08/04/1999-i440BX-ITE867-2A69KV3FC-00.

Also sold as HIS P6BX4-A1.

http://www.centralmedia.fr/home/cartes%20meres.html


PcPartner Product page:-

http://www.pcpartner.com/prod/bxa828d.htm


PcPartner Manual and bios download:-

http://www.pcpartner.com/bios/i440.htm#440bx



Aussie :lol:
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Postby penbat2001 » Wed May 22, 2002 1:17 am

Thanks all. It looks just like your picture Mr Aussie as far as i can see.

Looking at

http://www.pcpartner.com/bios/i440.htm#440bx

for 35-8828-XX there is a IMbit flash size version and a 2Mbit flash size version. Um which one do I choose ? I had a look at the corresponding manual and i couldn't see any specific info on supported processor speeds. If it can't support a Celeron 400MHz then it is in vain.

Thanks

David
penbat2001
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:47 am

Postby Aussie » Wed May 22, 2002 3:22 am

Bios string (2Mbit bios version) 08/04/1999-i440BX-ITE867-2A69KV3FC-00.


The bios string for the 1Mbit version is different so I think we can safely assume that you have the 2Mbit version. However you can refer to the page below to double check if you like.

http://www.pcpartner.com/faq/flash.htm

The board will support a Celeron 400MHz processor, in fact I'm sure that it would support up to at least a 533MHz Celeron and possibly higher.

Intel CPU's are multiplier locked from the factory, that is the multiplier is set internally within the processor itself, all multiplier settings on the board are totally ignored and therefore irrelevent.

The only setting you will have to check/adjust is the front side bus setting (66MHz). CPU core voltage is automatically detected so no adjustment is required.

As the board has been running a Celeron 300, which is also a 66MHz bus processor, you should be able to just drop in the 400 and go - no setup/adjustment necessary.


Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia


Return to Motherboard Identification Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests