Multiple Processors :: How much alike do they have to be?

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Multiple Processors :: How much alike do they have to be?

Postby EdFlesh » Sun May 19, 2002 2:43 pm

Looking to add the second processor to one of my computers and have seen previous posts stating that multiple processors need to be the same make. Does this mean that a P3 550 with 265K cache cannot be paired with a P3 550 having 512K cache? Also, what makes the difference if the instruction sets are comparable?


Thanks for the help,


Ed 8O
EdFlesh
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Texas

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sun May 19, 2002 3:15 pm

Some boards will not function unless the processors match, though I have seen cases where processors were under/overclocked and they worked fine.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby jeffa469 » Mon May 20, 2002 2:30 pm

If you're serious about going Dual Proc, I'd order from a Vendor that'll mount both CPUs on the motherboard and test it before sending it to you. A mismatch in Cache size would seem sure to cause problems, the less alike the two processors are, the more unstable your PC will be. I'm assuming you are running some Major App that really does use Dual Proc's, apps that don't may actually run a hair slower on a Dualie.
jeffa469
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Minnesota


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest