The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 9:31 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 4:53 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 3:52 pm
Posts: 286
cool deal doug. i'd just try it.... run those 64 biters...see what happends. will be interesting. after all, you're experimenting anyway...so that's the whole point! i know the new g5's run 32 bit code fine.

thanks for helpin' out! we do need it badly!

_________________
Default_Dave's STATS! Team #33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 9:06 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:48 pm
Posts: 6772
Location: Fast, Cheap, and Reliable- You can only choose 2
Could you run a benchmark on that thing pleeeeeease!??? Maybe using PCmark2002/2003 or SiSoft Sandra?

That would soooo cool.

_________________
Main rig: 1/2" ID Water Cooled Lian-Li V2000B, Abit IP35 Pro, Intel C2D E6750@ -3.4ghz 1.3375v, Mushkin 2gb DDR2-800 996576, one terabyte storage, evga 7900GS KO w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu cooler, Swiftech Apogee GT water block, Ultra X2 550w PSU
Laptop: Asus Z70VA, Pentium M 725 1.6@ -2.13ghz (pinmod), ATI X700 Pro, 1680x1050 native res., bluetooth, the works...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Itanium2
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 11:19 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 10:20 pm
Posts: 1250
Location: YUMA, ARIZONA
I WILL run benchmarks as part of Intel's plan. I'll share the data. As for the Pent. PRO server, I will put it together and fire it up soon.
The system I am currently using for everyday stuff is an Intel 865PE, 2.4g P4, Win2K pro SP4, 512m 2700, 80gb WD HD. Could I fold with this one and still use it (downloads, email, this site, and general web searches) without slow downs.
Does connection speed figure into the equation? I have DSL.

_________________
SOME THINGS MUST BE BELIEVED TO BE SEEN

MEMBER- MOTHERBOARDS.ORG FOLDING TEAM
>>>>>>>>>1,000,000 POINTS<<<<<<<<<


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 12:06 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 11:34 am
Posts: 2161
Location: Newport, Rhode Island USA
Most definitely, the program is designed to use only your spared cpu cycles. It doesn't impact at all your performance. Actually it will be totally transparent to your everyday used.

I know so because I install it on the PC that is mostly used in the house. The PC where all the video and image processing are done. I install it there since this system is kept on 18/7.

Trust me. Just do it. I'm willing to bet my money that you won't notice any difference.

_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 12:38 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
Net connection speed won't make a difference, except shorten the time taken for up and downloading. However, more systems for folding will be nice.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 12:44 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:56 am
Posts: 7339
Location: Kansas
Having a always on connection is nice though. I had cable and about a month ago I moved back out in the country and am now on dial up. You have to watch for WU's to finish and make sure they're online when done. When you're running more than one machine it can be a hassle and cause some time lost. They're supposed to be installing a wireless DSL tower close that I can connect to. Can hardly wait :D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 12:45 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
Southwind - I believe that the team has worked out a way for it to connect to the net when it needs to upload, and then disconnect after. Not sure of the post though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 12:47 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:56 am
Posts: 7339
Location: Kansas
Well find it :lol: Seriosly I would appreciate a link. I've lost several hours folding because of this problem.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 12:48 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
It's in this section of the forum. Where, i don't know... Will look (you can look yourself too you know)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 12:51 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:56 am
Posts: 7339
Location: Kansas
After I posted , I thought you might take that wrong :lol: I am going to look. I was joking about you finding it. :oops:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group