folding very slow- new system build- need assistance

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby DefaultDave » Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:36 pm

yip good call evasive, makes sense.... the bios is prolly spending unneeded time querying the ide bus with it on cable select like that, were hardcoding it to single eliminates that.
DefaultDave
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 3:52 pm

Postby J.C.GARCIA » Fri Oct 31, 2003 2:51 pm

Len444 wrote: and delete fahcore_65.exe. when folding is then started, it'll download a new core.


when it downloads a new core , will it be a new fahcore65 :?: and if so wont it just download tinkers again :?:
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Postby DefaultDave » Fri Oct 31, 2003 3:05 pm

i really dont know the algorithm used for server selection but i'd think [for the most part] it's random or at least to those specific to your prefs [fah or gah and if advmethods switch is used or not].

but this is a HOT topic over on the fah forum!! :twisted:
DefaultDave
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 3:52 pm

Postby J.C.GARCIA » Fri Oct 31, 2003 3:36 pm

well pref here is fah and switches are the advmethods forceasm ones
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Postby DefaultDave » Fri Oct 31, 2003 3:47 pm

as i read, i've leared [or at least read] that the -advmethods switch OVERRIDES the fah/gah pref set in the client options.

but i'd think that there is some sort of method to probe for availible servers, then if none are avail or too busy it will got to the next in line or whatever. last night i started to download a fah_65 tinker and i dumped it. shut down the client and restarted it (deleted the 65.exe). and i dl'ed a grom
DefaultDave
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 3:52 pm

Postby J.C.GARCIA » Fri Oct 31, 2003 3:56 pm

ok thanks for the info . i'll delete the fahcore 65 when i finish with this tinker and upload results today . then i'll restart the client . in other words upload results - disconnect to prevent another download - shut down client - delete fahcore 65 - start client - connect - and see if it downloads a gromac
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Postby evasive » Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:13 pm

I've stopped trying to get only gromacs as it is defeating the purpose of F@H. This is a scientific project and the legwork needs to be done too. This is not a game where you want to achieve as many points as you can get. Competetive: fine, but not if it defeats the main purpose (science).
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby DefaultDave » Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:47 pm

i TOTALLY agree with you evasive... what i don't agree with is stanford's point awarding system. if they want the 'legwork' to get down then reward us for it with more points. either that or make the "1st" place person have the most work units instead of the highest score if it's not about the points.

tink's are almost punishment ...they take longer and are worth the LEAST! no need for that!
DefaultDave
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 3:52 pm

Postby J.C.GARCIA » Fri Oct 31, 2003 6:05 pm

agreed . although a couple of more points for extra work done could be useful and fair
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Postby evasive » Fri Oct 31, 2003 8:20 pm

Maybe they forgot to put the flags on on their celly 500 and are overrating the gromacs WUs greatly...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests