The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:08 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: So im new.
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 7:25 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 1517
Location: Arizona
Hi just have one question. what would be a good setting for the cpu usage percent? I know 100 wil lget the most work done, but i want to still be able to surf the net and play around with various settings on my comp without windows closing down FAH (like it did before) because too much stuff is going on.

also, should i set it in the lowest priority, or slightly higher?

_________________
CPU=AMD Athlon X2 3800+
RAM=Corsair XMS DDR400 1GB 2-3-3-6 Timings
MOBO=ASUS A8N-E
VID=EVGA GeForce 7950GT
HDD=74GB WD Raptor


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 7:53 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:48 pm
Posts: 6772
Location: Fast, Cheap, and Reliable- You can only choose 2
Well you know what?

I have set it to 100% on both of my computers. The one in my sig and the 1.4ghz p4 i have.

I also surf the net with no slow down at all.

O yeah, and i play the halo multiplayer demo with it running at 100% in the background with minimal slowdown believe it or not!

Although some games will switch to the background automatically so that you have to turn it down or off like BF1942 or MOHAA.

_________________
Main rig: 1/2" ID Water Cooled Lian-Li V2000B, Abit IP35 Pro, Intel C2D E6750@ -3.4ghz 1.3375v, Mushkin 2gb DDR2-800 996576, one terabyte storage, evga 7900GS KO w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu cooler, Swiftech Apogee GT water block, Ultra X2 550w PSU
Laptop: Asus Z70VA, Pentium M 725 1.6@ -2.13ghz (pinmod), ATI X700 Pro, 1680x1050 native res., bluetooth, the works...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 8:01 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 1517
Location: Arizona
yes. the problem occured once last night. i might have jsut pissed it off by trying full screen and messing with settings. Today its been fine. 3/400 on my way to a WU lol. With this much time for just one WU i can see how they needed a huge amount of comps running it. Its never been so easy to help cure a diease. I feel good that my idleing comp is actually doing something useful, and like i was promised its extremely easy to pause. like you said it runs in the lowest priority so games like halo will get all the share of the processor they need. WHAT A GOOD IDEA!!

_________________
CPU=AMD Athlon X2 3800+
RAM=Corsair XMS DDR400 1GB 2-3-3-6 Timings
MOBO=ASUS A8N-E
VID=EVGA GeForce 7950GT
HDD=74GB WD Raptor


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 9:15 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
The reason why that one is taking so long is because you got a tinker. Expect it to take ages. As to the CPU usage %, just set it to 95% in order to give your PC a bit of breathing room while you're using it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 9:38 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 1517
Location: Arizona
"a tinker" what is that?

BTW im now on 16/400 so its definitely going

_________________
CPU=AMD Athlon X2 3800+
RAM=Corsair XMS DDR400 1GB 2-3-3-6 Timings
MOBO=ASUS A8N-E
VID=EVGA GeForce 7950GT
HDD=74GB WD Raptor


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 9:42 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
There are two types of work units

Tinkers and Grommacks
Tinkers are big molecules, with lots of atoms, and are older. They were not designed to take advantage of any particular CPU features, like SSE, SSE2 and 3DNow!.
Grommacks are more recent work units which are only 100 frames, but often show as 500 or 2500 frames. Some are prone to resetting if the client is not properly closed (pause work THEN close). They have been written to take advantage of these optimizations, and due to this, run noticeably faster.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:06 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 1517
Location: Arizona
ah. i dont really care as long as its folding. ill just make sure to pause then close from now on tho.

What is a frame? is it the last # in the WU progress?

_________________
CPU=AMD Athlon X2 3800+
RAM=Corsair XMS DDR400 1GB 2-3-3-6 Timings
MOBO=ASUS A8N-E
VID=EVGA GeForce 7950GT
HDD=74GB WD Raptor


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:08 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
actually - a frame refers to each step of folding in a tinker. It does not apply in a grommacks work unit, which does the unit in steps. X amount of steps = 1%


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:17 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
Triggerhappy41 wrote:
yes. the problem occured once last night. i might have jsut pissed it off by trying full screen


i've had the system lock up w/ full screen mode w/ the graphical version (windows 3.24). don't use full screen mode!

Tulatin wrote:
There are two types of work units

Tinkers and Grommacks


actually there are 3 (not sure if the 10xx series are a new type of wu???). tinker (fahcore_65), gromacs (fahcore_78), and genome/ GAH (fahcore_ca). set your advanced config option to FAH wu preference to avoid the genome/ GAH wu's. they have a reduced points value for us, as we are an FAH team. GAH wu's are good for sub 500mhz systems, as they don't have a deadline like the other 2 types of wu's.

and- welcome to the team!


Last edited by len444 on Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:21 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
you can do that in the advanced selection of the configuration window - simply set client type to folding at home.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group