Our total amount of Ghz

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Tulatin » Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:14 pm

-config is for the console only - it does exactly what it says.
-local essentially tells folding to stay in it's folder, rather than look about for work.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Southwind25 » Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:38 pm

I just downloaded the first work unit on a Barton 2500 that's running at 2100 MHz. I'm going to tweak it later, but wanted to get it folding. That brings my and my son's (ShadowHawk˜) total to something slightly over 7200 MHz's.
Image
Southwind25
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 7339
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:56 am
Location: Kansas

Postby J.C.GARCIA » Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:45 pm

so the -local flag will enable it to work and send but not recieve a wu , correct :?:
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Postby Wookie8662 » Sun Oct 19, 2003 1:01 am

The -local flag tells the client to look for the config file in the directory it is in, instead of looking in the registry for the config.

I am trying to setup a duallie system, and I need the -local flag, so I can run 2 clients at the same time. If you are running a single CPU board, you dont need to use the -local flag.
Image
Wookie8662
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2842
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Downey, CA

Postby len444 » Sun Oct 19, 2003 9:14 am

don't use the -local flag w/ the graphical client (as per wookie's explanation). i think i've seen people at the FAH forums who have used it, and were having problems.

the one thing i'm not sure about is the windows console installed into a "directory"/ folder at say my desktop, and a shortcut to it is placed at the desktop as well. it's a local directory, outside of the registry/ and programs directories, so the local switch would seem to be needed. i did use it while testing the 3.25beta console, and didn't find a problem w/ it (unless there were, and i'm not aware of it). i wonder if it would interfere w/ a modem configuration?
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Tulatin » Sun Oct 19, 2003 12:25 pm

Surprisingly, i turned off -local, and it did help a little - my WU didn't reset when i paused and shut it off...
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Wookie8662 » Sun Oct 19, 2003 9:25 pm

Got the duallie (XP1600's) up and running 2 clients now.
I think the key was the affinity setting, to "force" one CPU to each client.

Add those CPU's back into the total
That brings me up to 5 CPU's folding, all running the 3.25 console.

XP1600
XP1600
XP1600
XP1700
XP2000

Oh, and I have 2 XP1900's on the way to upgrade the duallie.

Now to look for another dual CPU board. :wink:
Image
Wookie8662
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2842
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Downey, CA

Postby Tulatin » Sun Oct 19, 2003 9:40 pm

Ooh, another farmer. This is uber-good. We're sure to pull ahead of PC-Mech now.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Wookie8662 » Sat Oct 25, 2003 1:12 am

It lives!

I added a second power cable to my duallie motherboard using a leftover 4pin molex plug. It is soldered to the ATX pins on the backside of the MB.
I've seen a few instances of people melting thier ATX connector and plug on this board (2460 v1.00), so I decided to do some surgery.

I removed the 2 XP1600's and dropped in a pair of XP1900's that have the L5 bridges intact.

So theres another bump in Mhz for each CPU there.

Who is keeping track of the total in this thread anyhow? :roll:

Another system on the workbench getting assembled as we speak.
Once a farmer, always a farmer I guess.
Image
Wookie8662
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2842
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Downey, CA

Postby Southwind25 » Sat Oct 25, 2003 1:16 am

We probably need to do a recount. Have some new folders and have lost some.
Image
Southwind25
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 7339
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:56 am
Location: Kansas

PreviousNext

Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Istellabot [Crawler] and 1 guest