The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 10:41 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2003 4:30 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 11:43 pm
Posts: 955
one of my online acquaintances posted this at another forum.. thought that this might benifit some of you folks here.

EDIT : The 1&1 free deal is no longer offered but
visit page 3 of this thread.. I added a new list of hosts


1&1 Internet is having a prelaunch special on their website offering a free professional package for three years. Features include:
Quote:
Website/Connectivity:
Hosted on I/O optimized own 1&1 Linux version
500 MB web space
5,000 MB/month traffic ($0.99 per GB for additional traffic)
No limits on simultaneous hits/bandwidth
Protected by firewall
Continuous backups of your website
99.9% Uptime guarantee

Website features:
Advanced live site statistics, log files, ready-to-run CGI-library, own CGI programming (Perl, Python), FrontPage 2002 extensions
Advanced Password Protection
5 FTP accounts
PHP3 & PHP4
MySQL
Proxy SSL Secure Server
Cron Jobs
SSH Secure Shell Access
Advanced Developer Tools

CRM/E-commerce:
WebElements
Newsletter Tool
One-on-one online dialogue
Turn-key web database applications
Chats
Forums

Domain names:
Register or transfer .com/.net/.org/.info for just $5.99/year
50 subdomains (e.g., shop.yourDomain.com)
Point up to 100 external domain names to 1&1
Applications:
Free template loaded online WebsiteCreator
Free full version of Fusion 7, search engine registration, ranking, optimization
Total software worth $300
1&1 Control Panel

E-mail handling:
50 POP3 e-mail accounts (50 MB each)
Catch-all e-mail addresses
Auto-responders, unlimited forwarding.
1&1 Advanced WebMail
Symantec virus scanner

Support:
1&1 Express support by e-mail


you need a phone to receive your 4-digit PIN code.

read about it here :
http://order.1and1.com/xml/static/HostingProfessional

signup here :
https://order.1and1.com/xml/order/EnterAddress

get it while you can :D
I don't know what happens after the 3 years are up though.


Last edited by peta_byte on Fri Feb 06, 2004 2:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2003 2:53 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
Whoa! 8O

I just may have to investigate this further. Thanks for the info. :wink:

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2003 5:13 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 1962
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Looks like a good deal. I've already signed up. It requires you to enter your current address and your telephone number.

The offer ends 1/14/04, so you've still got plenty of time. You will have a bandwidth limit of 6GB per month. After the 3 years, you may switch to any plan from $5 to $29.

I suggest that everyone that wants to sign up for this read the Terms and Conditions thoroughly. There are restrictions, such as not being able to host a chat room on your site along with a few others.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2003 3:05 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
Hey dharbert, please let us (or at least me) know how you like it and if there are any problems or not. It looks like a good deal, and I could use a new home page/web site. :wink:

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2003 4:10 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
I went ahead and signed up so my wife will have her own site. bought her a domain name (5.99/yr). let's see....

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2003 4:31 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 1962
Location: Oklahoma, USA
It's working out great right now. It takes a little while for the domain registration to take effect, but usually you can start work on your site in about 24 hours. I'm having a bit of trouble with it as far as getting started. I can't seem to find where it placed my index.html file in the directory structure. The controls are many and somewhat confusing, but there is a lot you can do with this service.

It has pre-made website templates as well as flash intros.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:26 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 4:47 pm
Posts: 3730
Location: Victoria,Vancouver Island, BC
Someone said these freebee's are not the way to go. As a relative newbe to web sites ,as I have no idea how to set them up etc. I'm somewhat hesitant, but thought it would be a good way to get my feet wet. Any advice to this regard? Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2003 7:12 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
As far as "Freebies", this is a limited time promotion. After 3 years, you have to start paying. I agree with dharbert, the control panel is somewhat confusing, but way back when, Windoze was(?) somewhat confusing. As in everything, there is a learning curve.......

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2003 7:41 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 11:47 pm
Posts: 92
Location: Bradford PA
that right there.... is just... too good to be true.... do u have to be a part of their system after the 3 years for a certain ammount of time?

_________________
System -
AMD 2500 XP, 1.5 Gig = Ram, NF7-S Mobo, Radeon 9600 xt, Onboard Sound....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2003 8:21 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Best thing to do, is read the terms and conditions. I BELIEVE there is not a requirement to stay the entire 3 years.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group