The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:38 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 9:26 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
Guys,

Can you extend an ethernet cable by taking a phone line, and using it's wires to extend the ethernet cable wiring? (I know that ethernet has 8 connections and phone has 4, so you need two phone lines per ethernet) but will this result in a degration of performance, or will it simply not work?

Andrey
________
Ford EcoSport specifications


Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 9:31 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
It'll work for 10Mbps cable because only 4 wires are actually used, but 2 phone cords would work aswell.
The only problem is that they are not sheilded so anything that emits some sort of electric field, would be affected...

Pin Name Description
1 TX+ Trancieve Data+
2 TX- Trancieve Data-
3 RX+ Receive Data+
4 n/c Not connected
5 n/c Not connected
6 RX- Receive Data-
7 n/c Not connected
8 n/c Not connected

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Last edited by Hardware Junkie on Fri May 17, 2002 9:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 9:35 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
so using 4 lines will give me 10 MBPS, and using 8 lines will give me 100 MBPS? or does the speed depend on the wiring involved?

any way to shield it? say wrap it in electrical duct tape?
________
juggalo


Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 9:38 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
I wouldn't even try sheilding the cable...you would need to wrap it in foil and stuff...etc...not worth it. Electical tape would not cover it...

8 wires is used for 100Mbps...

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 9:57 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
thanks for the help!

what would be considered enough electrical interference to affect the data quality? simply having it near the computer? or a lightning storm?
________
Dongfeng Honda Automobile Company specifications


Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 10:15 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Wrapping the phone cord in a circle, or passing by a lamp or fan or TV...anything that transmits electricity.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2002 3:19 am 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 454
Location: Atlanta, GA
Just a question...

....why do you need to use telephone cable instead of cat5e cable?

Given the low cost of the networking cable and its wide availability, it just seems so much easier to do it right. Almost any length of un-twisted cable will degrade performance and the difference in resistance on the different gauge wires will also degrade your throughput.

_________________
reader
_ _ _____ _ _
"There we were, lost in the Wilds of Afghanistan without a corkscrew. Forced to live for days on nothing but food and water."

W.C. Fields


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2002 10:47 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
I think it would be just cheaper for me. I have a short amount of cat5, and alot of telephone wires. I need about 75 feet of cable in order to get from the basement where my hub is, to my room where the computer will move to. I figured it would be cheaper to just splice the cable in the middle and add the phone lines to lengthen it.
________
star craft replays


Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2002 11:33 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
I've got a similar problem with getting the DSL to my sister upstairs for access. I was going to use the existing phone line that goes to her room to give her access.
Just have not given it a try yet.

Give it a try, but good luck...

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 4:47 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1347
It should work to use the phone line, but I agree that the low cost of using the correct cable is more than justified by the better throughput and less data errors. BTW, 100 mbps is only possible on cat 5 cable. The twist ratio reduces crosstalk and interference from external sources to make the additional speed possible.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group