The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:10 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2002 4:04 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 4:19 am
Posts: 15
Location: High Wycombe, England
There's been quite a lot of talk on the Recommendations forum about how there's no point in buying PC2700 memory for use with an Athlon processor - the argument is that while the memory runs at 333Mhz, the CPU only runs on a 266Mhz FSB so anything above PC2100 memory adds no performance.

As I'm looking to buy the Abit KTX-333 mobo with an Athlon 2000+ CPU, I naturally want to be able to make use of PC2700. Some advice on the possibility and techniques of overclocking Athlons for this purpose would be much appreciated (not just by me I'm sure!).

Thanks

T Jacks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2002 8:13 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 1432
Location: L.A.
who said it does not add performance! it does, it gives you25% more memory bandwith. but if you can get your cpu to run stable at 166mhz FSB then you will get even more performance, its just really hard to do.

_________________
Two muffins are baking in an oven. one muffin says to the other,"hey man its getting pretty hot in here" "Holy $%^!@#" the other muffin replys " A talking muffin!" MaximMAg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2002 8:39 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 153
Location: Miami, Florida
Well you will have to unlock your cpu inorder to make it alot easier to get to that 166 fsb. I believe tomshardware did an article about that. I'll see if i can find it and post the link.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2002 11:44 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 755
Quote:
who said it does not add performance! it does, it gives you25% more memory bandwith


okay well datek, it doesn't add much actual performance. there are benchmarks but i dont feel like getting them, they're at tomshardware.com i'm sure. the 25% ram boost doesn't mean 25% system performance boost, like the difference between CAS 2 and CAS 2.5 isn't really a 20% performance difference. AMD's bandwidth doesn't get much out of the frequency difference, and it's not really much to upgrade from 266 to 333.

back to the question, with motherboards with the KT333 chipset, you don't need to overclock anything to make use of ddr333 ram, there is a multiplier you can set to change the ratio of fsb-to-ram, keeping the FSB and CPU at 133mhz and getting the RAM at 166mhz,333 ddr.

_________________
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!


Last edited by Aibohphobia on Mon Jul 22, 2002 8:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2002 2:07 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 1432
Location: L.A.
I wrote wrote:
it gives you25% more memory bandwith



notice i did not say total system performance but rather memory bandwith :roll:

_________________
Two muffins are baking in an oven. one muffin says to the other,"hey man its getting pretty hot in here" "Holy $%^!@#" the other muffin replys " A talking muffin!" MaximMAg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group