The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:04 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 2:22 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 2:09 am
Posts: 12
For those that may have a FIC OEM version of the SD11 Motherboard this is called Aspen2, I'm looking for a BIOS upgrade. FIC no longer have the support link on their website. If you have any information that might help me please advise.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 3:24 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
FIC SD11 BIOS Updates:- http://www.fic.com.tw/support/motherboa ... model_id=9

BEWARE the Aspen2 is An OEM version of the SD11 found in Compaq computers. Upgrade at your own risk. Let us know how it turns out..

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Aspen2 Motherboard
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 1:01 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 2:09 am
Posts: 12
Thanks for the information. I have visted that site for upgrades but that's the modified version of the Aspen2 motherboard. I have upgraded the BIOS with the file listed on the site but it does not solve the problem with the Maxtor harddrives. Hence, I experienced POST hangups that was a real pain in the butt! The best bet for those that want to install a larger harddrive is to get an IDE or EIDE card. EIDE is a feature that has a limitation on this motherboard. Example, the Maxtor that I used has 16383 cyc, 16 hds, and 63 sectors but the maximum capacity being read by the BIOS was 33Gb. If you can't afford a EIDE or IDE card it would be best to use the Cyc Limit Jmp which is j46 on the Maxtor drives. Good luck and I hope that my experience aids you in your modifications.

For those that have the compaq version of this motherboard I will not recomend the BIOS upgrade unless your motherboard has SD11 written on it. Note that after having contact with FIC they said that they do not provide upgrades for OEM motherboards. If you have choosen to upgrade please remember that you can backup the current BIOS file by running the Flash818.exe in DOS mode and choosing the "File" option with the return key. Specify the file path and name "a:\DFTBIOS.ROM" or "a:\DFTBIOS.EXT" and then hit the return key. Key note to remember is that you have to hold the END key when the system restarts until its passes the NVRAM check. This will install the default values for the newly installed BIOS.

For those that replied to this post I will like to thank you again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 1:45 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 2:09 am
Posts: 12
The motherboards are compatible with the Micron DIMM 100 - 133 modules. It would be wise to use this make of SDRAM in these motherboards. I have played with different makers of SDRAM and often experience data transfer errors. The boards work under Windows 9x/NT/2000 Pro. I have not tested the board under Windows XP. FreeBSD has been installed without errors. Later I will test the board under Linux SuSE, redHat, and makdrake. I will keep this updated for those that may need the help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 3:44 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Quote:
Fixes
1. Fix AMD Thunderbird CPU (A1 sample) internal cache information return size incorrect.
2. Fix HDD size exceeds 33GB report error, when in setup menu by press "AUTO" to get the HDD size.
3. Add setup item for user to select IDE cable size.
4. Fix all Maxtor UDMA 66 HDD copy files hang up.


http://mobokive.dyndns.org/Archive/Fic/ ... lota/sd11/

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 12:48 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
I am a tad bit confused here. Did the BIOS flash work ok beyond the "hang" at detecting the hard drive? (i.e. when you flashed the BIOS with the FIC version the board still functioned?)

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group