The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:49 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 4:14 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm
Posts: 2575
maybe they made some minor tweaks to how it is displayed, the 100/400 shows the frames and when it says writing to disk it is doing sort of a backup so when you restart it knows where it left off


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 9:23 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
Default_Dave wrote:
got a question too...i used to see the "frame 01...02...03...ect" in the console version...now i get the Step 01 "writing to hd" (or whatever it says) with the 100 out of 400 and so on ... no more frame references.

what's the deal? is this from the -advmethods or -forceasm ? or is it cuase of the -local switch? just curious...all's running.


frames= Tinker WU, and steps= Gromacs WU. -advmethods flag will get a higher concentration of gromacs wu's, and -forceasm will give an extra sse boost (might equal 20% faster) specific to gromacs WU's.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 9:40 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
len444 wrote:
-forceasm will give an extra sse boost (might equal 20% faster) specific to gromacs WU's.

NOw applies to tinker work units, care of Beta 3.25


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 4:27 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 2:57 pm
Posts: 708
Location: Yorkshire, UK
NTFS. I know, but it suits my needs better. You thinking this is the cause?

_________________
CALL &BD19 (If you need to ask you don't need to know)
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 9:50 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
Ripshod wrote:
NTFS. I know, but it suits my needs better. You thinking this is the cause?


no, not ntfs. i was contemplating if you had a large fat32 partition (over 32gig), and was loosing stability due to cluster size being too large for the data being written to it. but this doesn't appear to be the case.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 9:52 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
Tulatin wrote:
len444 wrote:
-forceasm will give an extra sse boost (might equal 20% faster) specific to gromacs WU's.

NOw applies to tinker work units, care of Beta 3.25


according to this reply at FAH forum, Tinker isn't using sse instruction sets.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 1:38 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 2:57 pm
Posts: 708
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Just completed my first WU. #349 in just under 26hrs. Must have been a stinker cos I've just gone to #22 in the team rankings.

Good to be working now. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 1:46 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 2:57 pm
Posts: 708
Location: Yorkshire, UK
It doesn't make any sense not to optimise some code for SSE and SSE2 instructions seeing as the command line version (3.25) has optimisations for 3DNOW! Or could I be wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 1:48 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 3707
Location: Great Beer Zone
that's nice ripshod . roll away those wu's :wink:

_________________
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:31 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
Ripshod wrote:
It doesn't make any sense not to optimise some code for SSE and SSE2 instructions seeing as the command line version (3.25) has optimisations for 3DNOW! Or could I be wrong?


i didn't right the code. tinker doesn't use sse, and gromacs does. tinker is supposed to be very easy to manipulate for the task at hand. gromacs are nice as they are written for speed.

btw, if you see 3dnow! stated in the console when you first start it up, you more than likely have a gromacs WU, which means that you should try and add the -forceasm flag. that will show "extra sse boost ok". just be sure to use ctrl -c to close the console properly (if and when you do).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group