The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:51 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 8:26 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 714
Location: Colorado
I have a dell dimenson8100 and am planning on buying a new case w/ps, buy a new cpu and motherboard and use the rest from my old system since their still good. It came with Win ME. Once I put it all together (I'll be using my old HD) I want to format it and put Win XP on it. Will I have to buy the full version or can I buy the upgrade version? If I bough the upgrade then, would I have to install Me and then XP?
Lost here!! :(
-Jon-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Should be fine....
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 9:11 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Just remember to get a board that is compatible with your old RAM. I think its using RDRAM, so you'll need a board that uses this RAM type or buy new RAM.

With reguards to XP upgrade, you would have to install ME then upgrade

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 9:16 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 714
Location: Colorado
Yup, I found a mobo that supports my old RDRAM (pc800) and the new (pc1066 i think). Do you suggest that I buy the full version then??


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 9:32 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
I would. You might have some left over Windows ME files you do not need.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 9:43 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 1432
Location: L.A.
actualy you can boot from the xp cd and install it without Me installed. just make sure you have your me cd handy so it can scan the cd to verify you purchased a legal copie of ME you could also you a win 98 cd it just has to scan an original windows cd for security purposes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: True
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 11:42 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Wasn't sure if that still worked...
I keep Windows 3.11 disks around for older upgrades of Windows 95/98... :D

8) 8) 8)

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 12:29 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 714
Location: Colorado
Quote:
actualy you can boot from the xp cd and install it without Me installed. just make sure you have your me cd handy so it can scan the cd to verify you purchased a legal copie of ME you could also you a win 98 cd it just has to scan an original windows cd for security purposes.


Has anyone sucessfully done that with XP and ME?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 12:27 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 1432
Location: L.A.
yep i do it when ever i install xp 8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 12:36 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 48
Location: U.K
I also did it when i installed ME upgrade. It was on a formatted hd and it just asked for the 98 disk at the beginning of the process to verify it. I have also found that it can be advantageous to have the upgrade version as if i ever get any problems with ME i can just reinstall it from disk over the top of my existing install without having to do a format and it sorts most problems out.

Good luck :D
James


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 12:59 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 366
Location: England UK
the XP version is slitly diferent though

you don't need to do a fdisk on the drive as it dose all that during the install as well

i did a full install of XP without having ME or 98 on the drive as it was new and no probs there as with the ME version it just asked for the 98 or ME disk to verify you had a ligitamat copy of the previos O/S

MS have been crafty in the way thay sell upgrades

basicly you get the full version of the O/S on the disk with a added section for the upgrade part of the disk but full or upgrade are the same thing just upgrades have this extra bit about the previos version of windows added in

if you want top do a full install of XP on a cleen drive then all you need to do is this :

go into the bios and set the boot sequence to : CD-ROM, FDD, HD in that order save and exit with the xp disk in the drive and your away ok :)

_________________
The whole world is a game and we are but players within it

but what a game :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group