The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:39 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Web Site time?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 1:23 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 5:37 pm
Posts: 120
Location: UK
Hi everyone, Image

I am in the UK, and at this time of year, we are on BST (British Summer Time) which is GMT +1. In this site set up, I have set the time zone to GMT +1, and the time shown on the web site is ahed and in error by about 5 hour and 15 mins, allowing for a slow dial up link. And it says: 'All times are GMT + 1 Hour'?
As I am new here, and don't know how this works, I assume the administrators have an offset to offset the server time to GMT, and then the members can set to there own timezone. I understand that DST changes through the world makes this complicated, especially when server DST is changed, but this could be corrected twice a year. Can someone explain how this works and why my time shown is so wrong.

As a test, I will hit the go button at 17:40 BST, (16:40 GMT) so you can compere this with posting time.
http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/ This link shows the time now in GMT, look at the bottom of the table.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 2:18 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
This has been brought up time and time again. It is a quirk in the BBS software and no fix yet.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 5:18 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 5:37 pm
Posts: 120
Location: UK
evasive wrote:
This has been brought up time and time again. It is a quirk in the BBS software and no fix yet.


Thanks evasive, as I am new here, I didn't know that.

brought up time and time again, Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 5:23 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
:wink:

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 3:24 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
Is it not possible to link up to an Atomic Clock using some Freeware? Or has that been tried?

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 3:37 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Bug in the software. It's perfectly possible the time on the server itself is OK, it just is shown wrong on the BBS.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group