Overclocking Gigabyte BX2000 / Celeron 466

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Overclocking Gigabyte BX2000 / Celeron 466

Postby theVodkaCircle » Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:51 pm

Hi all, great site, glad I found it.

I am in the limbo land of being a few months away from affording new bits for my PC and want, in the interim, to be able to juice my existing one up a little if possible.
What I have.....
Gigabyte Intel AGPSET 440BX BX2000 1.6 motherboard
Award ROM PCI/ISA BIOS 2A69KG0E (Theres a 4.51PG in there somewhere too)
Intel Celeron 466 CPU
Gigabyte TNT2 32Mb Video Card

I have been doing some research but for someone who has never looked into overclocking previously, I am a little confused to be honest.

I have read a suggestion of increasing through BIOS the CPU speed.
(Celeron 466 Mhz - 581 Mhz @ 7 x 83 Mhz or also 525 Mhz @ 7 x 75 Mhz)
Does anyone have any suggestions please ?

Thank you.

Also, with the vid card, I have thought that it is also overclockable. I would assume through software but haven't been able to, as yet, find the correct software. Would I be right in assuming it would come with drivers ?

Cheers
theVodkaCircle
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:43 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby The Disturbance » Wed Jun 26, 2002 5:03 pm

Well for the video card use PowerStrip download it here: http://download.com.com/3000-2094-10121 ... ag=lst-0-1
don't go too high on the card I let my GeForce2 MX400 stay at

Engine- 186.13MHz
Memory- 177.95MHz (both are in the yellow area)

With that I can get 3000 on 3DMark2001 SE...see my sig...
I would run it higher, but my video card doesn't have a fan or heatsink... :cry:
The Disturbance
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 6:44 am
Location: RI

Postby theVodkaCircle » Wed Jun 26, 2002 6:05 pm

Great, thanks for that, d/ling now.

This will help somewhat I hope. Now for the mb/cpu...... :)
theVodkaCircle
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:43 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Tolemac » Wed Jun 26, 2002 7:39 pm

Go ahead and set the FSB to 75MHz and reboot your unit. If it goes to 525MHz for the CPU, then there you are. Run some apps to see if it's stable and if it is, then you have an overclocked system. 8)
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby theVodkaCircle » Wed Jun 26, 2002 7:48 pm

Dopey question approaching......
Set the FSB ?
Sorry, dont answer that until I can get home and actually LOOK in bios :)
But on the other hand, forewarned.....
If youre familiar with the award bios I listed above, do you know what section in bios will have these settings please ?

Cheers everyone.
theVodkaCircle
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:43 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Tolemac » Wed Jun 26, 2002 9:28 pm

Do you have the manual for that mobo? It may not be in the BIOS as it is an older board. It may be that you will need to set the Front Side Bus (FSB) by using jumpers on the board itself.
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby theVodkaCircle » Thu Jun 27, 2002 4:09 pm

Hehheh, Im in the middle of packing to move. I think I will check Gigabytes web site and see if they have pdf version :)
Cheers for your help everyone.
theVodkaCircle
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:43 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Toby B. » Fri Jun 28, 2002 12:18 am

Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby theVodkaCircle » Wed Jul 03, 2002 8:54 pm

Toby you are a LEGEND. Thanks a lot.
theVodkaCircle
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:43 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia


Return to Overclockers Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Bot] and 1 guest