How easy/hard to burn up a cpu?

CPU Cooling tricks and techniques.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

How easy/hard to burn up a cpu?

Postby chivy » Wed May 29, 2002 6:21 pm

How long/short could it take to burn up a CPU?? Athlon 1.4. I read that it can get to 300 degrees in less than 1 second without a heatsink. True? Seems a little exaggerated. Maybe not. Also read that you could (but obviously shouldn't) but could , run a P4 without a heat sink and it would not burn up for some time. Again, sounds a little far fetched (kinda like the engine that will run after you drain oil ..). Of course both of these were on the same site and both favor Intel over AMD, so could be slightly biased. Anyway, does an AMD chip burn up that fast?? Is it obvious that that is what happened?? Burn marks, smoke, burnt smell??????
chivy
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2000 12:00 am
Location: New Orleans LA

Postby Aibohphobia » Wed May 29, 2002 11:20 pm

Aha! For once a question I am qualified to answer. Indeed the AMD CPU's get EXTREMELY HOT. I know this as I have both ran one without a heat-sink [CRACK and no more CPU] and touched the CPU while it burned up. It damn near singed my finger, it got so hot so fast. Really, I think it is under a second that it reaches over 300*C. I mean come on, 300* fahrenheit is pretty hot, but 300*C!!
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!
Aibohphobia
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am

Postby datektrader21 » Wed May 29, 2002 11:22 pm

i believe someone standing next to you said "hey Peter don't turn that on without a heatsink" this wise man of the hill was obviously ignored :lol:
Last edited by datektrader21 on Thu Jun 13, 2002 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
datektrader21
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 12:01 am
Location: L.A.

Postby Aibohphobia » Wed May 29, 2002 11:27 pm

So take our advice and don't play with fire, you'll just get burned. Luckily my MOBO turned off itself before any more damage could be done.
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!
Aibohphobia
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Tolemac » Thu May 30, 2002 10:40 am

Never ever run ANY CPU without proper cooling, unless you like buying new CPUs and motherboards everyday!Image
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby Scotty23 » Mon Jun 03, 2002 6:05 am

Yes, wise man say, cooling good, burning finger bad.
--Scotty
Scotty23
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 1:33 pm
Location: OUInsiders

Postby Johnny Mnemonic » Mon Jun 03, 2002 7:18 am

If it hurt when you do that, then don't do that.. :)
0100101001001101
Image
Johnny Mnemonic
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1903
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2001 1:01 am
Location: McKinney, Tx

Postby bjfacca » Wed Jun 12, 2002 9:57 pm

Once I decided to see how much time would take before my old slot athlon would take to overheat and the answer was: not enough time for me to shut it down, it took about 2 secs. Luckily it still worked even with the core surface looking a little "melted".
Don't try that.
bjfacca
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 1:01 am

newegg goood

Postby chivy » Thu Jun 13, 2002 6:47 pm

Well, either newegg is the best company on the web to deal with or they are the best company on the web. period. I sent back the athlon 1.4 cpu not knowing if I had burnt it up (I believe I didn't, however being relatively new at building systems, less than 30 or so). They didn't tell me whaat the problem was, but they sent me a new cpu at no charge. I'm pretty sure it must have been a bad cpu. I have learned that heatsink/fan - very important!! I put a new (generic) heatsink/fan on my old duron 650 and the temp dropped over 30 degree F. From 125+ to a rock solid 92F. However, generic cpu on Athlon 1.4 not sufficient. Recommendations for fans would be appreciated.

Thanks for input. Great site!!!
chivy
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2000 12:00 am
Location: New Orleans LA

Postby bennettsweb » Thu Jun 13, 2002 9:36 pm

I didn't know that you could run even a duron w/o a heatsink. I've been putting them on everthing since I build my first K6-2 450.

My old 486 even had a pretty big non-active sink.
bennettsweb
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2002 1:24 pm


Return to Cooling Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest