The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:35 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:53 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:23 pm
Posts: 92
Well, I finally did it!

Even with a total of seven fans in the case with that smelting furnace called a Prescott, I reached 91 degrees C! I was running CA EZ Antivirus scan and noticed that the temps were hovering in the low 80s. I waited to see how high they would reach and near the end of the scan broke through 90 and hit 91 degrees! Wheeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaa! Now that winter is coming I plan to heat my entire house with my CPU!

And that is measuring the temps as accurately as reasonable with SpeedFan, not the BIOS that reads 20 hotter. By the BIOS I would likely have hit over 110!

Now that the scan is over it's back down to idling around a nice frigid 50. I wonder what would happen if I OC'd this thing. Maybe I might meltdown the entire neighbourhood! Intel... gotta love 'em! I wonder if it's true that they hire all the chip engineers that AMD let go!

(I'm counting the days until the AMD M2 Windsor comes out and I'm pitching this soldering iron and getting back to the REAL chip brand!)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 4:12 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:56 am
Posts: 7339
Location: Kansas
LMAO :!: Not becuase your cpu's cookin', but the wording is great :lol:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 4:58 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:49 am
Posts: 7699
wouldn't it shut down by now ?

are you sure your sensors are correct

_________________
Join team 33258 today!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 5:15 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:23 pm
Posts: 92
What can I say? This Prescooker brings out the poet in me! :D

I've gone through the mill with the temp settings for months now. I've given up on the BIOS reading and settled on Speedfan after trying every other utility out there. It's as accurate as I can get it without a temp probe. I'm also surprised that it didn't shut down, but I don't know if it throttled down. There are two hi-temp partial throttling settings in the CMOS and it seems to have defaulted to the older version while the 560J can do the newer one. I didn't change it, since I think I'd like to see the silicon drip down the mobo so that I can be rid of this piece of %&$£ once and for all! :(

"If you wanna compute, buy an AMD, if you wanna grill steaks, buy an Intel!"

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 11:39 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
Grab a TT Big typhoon, i saw my loaded temps drop from 80 to 56 :D. Granted, that is with a cooler that extends past the rear case fans height wise.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 8:23 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:23 pm
Posts: 92
Hi, Tulatin!

Not that I want to disagree with your suggestions as you've always been spot-on with me, but I'm leaning towards the Titan Vanessa L-type. It's even bigger than the TT Big Typhoon (which is not a problem for my mobo as it's set up virtually in the open and it's horizontal so the fatso weight doesn't matter), it seems to have better cooling capacity, has regulatable fan (which the TT BT doesn't) and costs half as much! I just saw someone blow them out for $25! I don't wanna put too much more money into this system as it's just a stopgap for me until AMD puts me squarely into "Windsor Castle!" I guess I could transfer the new cooler to the new AMD but I want to jump into the Windsor as soon as they come out and I'm not sure that M2 adaptor mounting kits will be available that fast!

Newsflash:

The higher percentage of Intel users in the US Gulf Coast are responsible for raising area temperatures and making hurricanes worse!

"Stop global warming! Trade in your Intel for AMD!"

_________________
Image


Last edited by kychram on Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 8:43 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 4:47 pm
Posts: 3730
Location: Victoria,Vancouver Island, BC
My 3.2 Pressy's highest temp while folding and playing Far Cry was 62C, with my 6800 ultra, not even a hic-up :wink: :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:54 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:23 pm
Posts: 92
I've had these temp probs with my 3.6 since day one. I'm doing nothing now but playing an mp3 on Windows Media Player and typing this and I'm running 54 C! And it's a cool morning! I don't know if I have a particularly hot Preskillet, or this Spire CoolWave is a HeatWave, or what! But at least I've found a good use for my computer! :D

Image

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 4:05 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 1:47 pm
Posts: 8955
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Tulatin wrote:
Grab a TT Big typhoon, i saw my loaded temps drop from 80 to 56 :D. Granted, that is with a cooler that extends past the rear case fans height wise.


Yeah and he could safe on gas and attach some wingsd to his case and fly anywere he wants to go :lol:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:20 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:23 pm
Posts: 92
I still maintain the best solution is IF AMD's Windsor series has similar temperature characteristics to their current X2s, just junk the Prescooker and go back to AMD. I should never have left! Stupid me!!!!!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group