The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 3:45 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 5:14 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 1432
Location: L.A.
ok when i was using my dragon motherboard with a volcano 6cu i was getting temps of 50c then i put a new xp1600 with the arkua 7528 with as3 my temps would stand around 10-11 degrees above ambient, right around 43c. now i have swiched to my asus board and my temp is currently sitting at 33c case temp 58c cpu temp. with only winamp, aol, mbm5 and ie running. now i realize its been 111 to 115 outside but come on. now its at 59c as i type :? :? im thinking maybe i have to reaply my as3 but these temps are just insane.


any clues. :?:

ahhhh my cpu fan just stoped spinning i must go now

_________________
Two muffins are baking in an oven. one muffin says to the other,"hey man its getting pretty hot in here" "Holy $%^!@#" the other muffin replys " A talking muffin!" MaximMAg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 5:23 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 1432
Location: L.A.
wheew i figured out part of it. in the Asus bios i had turned Q-fan on so the bios was deciding when to have the cpu and case fans on. and i guess the bios thought 59c was just a dandy temp to have without a cpu fan 8O


so word to the wise Don't Turn on Q-fan on the A7V333


so now i am at 51c i still think it should be cooler any suggestions

_________________
Two muffins are baking in an oven. one muffin says to the other,"hey man its getting pretty hot in here" "Holy $%^!@#" the other muffin replys " A talking muffin!" MaximMAg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 5:29 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 682
I've heard that Asus temps are more accurate than other mobos because it uses a more accurate temperature probe. Many people have reported higher temperature readings with the Asus. This may be the problem. 51C really isn't that bad under load though.

_________________
Kids in a fast lane living for today
No rules to abide by and no one to obey
ID This Quote


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2002 10:09 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
Good tip there datektrader21! I never let the BIOS control the CPU fan. It can monitor it, but that's all.

Asus boards go back and forth as to their ability to accurately express the temps and voltages. So far, my Abit board has the best sensors that I've seen. Winbond if I remember correctly. The Soltek SL-75DRV4 was reading way too high for my tastes. Inaccurate to about 8*C.

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Istellabot [Crawler] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group