My AMD Duron CPU...

CPU Cooling tricks and techniques.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

My AMD Duron CPU...

Postby Gonzor » Sun Jun 30, 2002 5:44 am

Hi...Gonzor here!

My CPU-fan is currently running at 4440rpm and the temperature at this time is 59 * C. CPU is AMD Duron 1200MHz, CPU-fan oiginal AMD (Retail box, CPU and FAN)

Because the fan is design for AMD, and it´s NOT a AMD Athlon XP, the cooler should do the job and get the heat of the CPU! Notice...I run my computer without any plates at sides and out on the floor.

Question: Should I buy a new and bigger CPU-fan? And in that case...what kind of CPU-fan?

Suggestion, anyone?

Regards Gonzor.
Gonzor rules in VikingLand
Gonzor
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 1:10 am
Location: Sweden

Postby Aibohphobia » Sun Jun 30, 2002 7:08 am

Well, depends on your ambient room temp. and your case temps. The higher your case temps, due to insufficient cooling, the higher your CPU will get. A cpu cooler that will definitely run your CPU well is the Arkua 7528 , for only 22 bucks. But can you post your case temps too?
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!
Aibohphobia
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Gonzor » Sun Jun 30, 2002 8:56 am

Rolyat Retep wrote:Well, depends on your ambient room temp. and your case temps. The higher your case temps, due to insufficient cooling, the higher your CPU will get. A cpu cooler that will definitely run your CPU well is the Arkua 7528 , for only 22 bucks. But can you post your case temps too?


Hi...Royat Retep,

Currently the temperature is CPU: 57 * C...and CASE: 34* C

Soft cooler is on

Regards

Gonzor.
Gonzor rules in VikingLand
Gonzor
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 1:10 am
Location: Sweden

Postby Gonzor » Sun Jun 30, 2002 8:59 am

Gonzor wrote:
Rolyat Retep wrote:Well, depends on your ambient room temp. and your case temps. The higher your case temps, due to insufficient cooling, the higher your CPU will get. A cpu cooler that will definitely run your CPU well is the Arkua 7528 , for only 22 bucks. But can you post your case temps too?


Hi...Royat Retep,

Currently the temperature is CPU: 57 * C...and CASE: 34* C

Soft cooler is on

Regards

Gonzor.


Sorry... :( Rolyat Retep it should be!!! Sorry...

Gonzor.
Gonzor rules in VikingLand
Gonzor
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 1:10 am
Location: Sweden

Postby len444 » Mon Jul 01, 2002 7:54 pm

:arrow: :?: gonzer, what kind of thermal compound did you use, and if it came w/ the rubbery phase change compound- did you remove the protective film
that was covering it before installing the hsf on you cpu?
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Tolemac » Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:32 pm

The so-called Retail heatsinks that are sent with the AMD CPU's are cooler master crap. They will not cool anything higher than a socket 7 CPU.
Get yourself either the Arkua that Peter suggested or a Thermaltake Volcano 7+. Both do a great job, the Volcano 7+, however, is all copper and has a three speed fan switch. 8)
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby andrey » Mon Jul 01, 2002 11:40 pm

am I the only one who actually has no problems with the default AMD fan? :)
________
Dodge Ram Van History
Last edited by andrey on Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
andrey
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am

Postby effika » Mon Jul 01, 2002 11:44 pm

My boyfriend and my best friend stuck with the default AMD hsf with no problems. So that makes for 3 people. :)
effika
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2002 6:33 pm
Location: the Midwest, USA

Postby Tolemac » Tue Jul 02, 2002 12:40 pm

If you andrey and effika are having no problems with them, then god bless you as you are the first. It has one of the nastiest clips I've ever dealt with and it just doesn't do the job. There are much better HSF out there that are reliable and won;t give you the hassle this one will. To each their own, however.
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby effika » Tue Jul 02, 2002 1:29 pm

No, I had problems... that's why I was using the hsf from the other thread... /those/ two had no problems. How in the world they haven't is beyond me. heh.
effika
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2002 6:33 pm
Location: the Midwest, USA


Return to Cooling Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests