The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:53 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dell to ATX
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 8:36 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 12:00 pm
Posts: 222
Does anybody know of any websites that will help me accomplish this? I have an ATX pc, but I want to do something maybe a little different. After I am done you wouldn't even recognize that it was a Dell.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:50 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
short of gutting the Dell case and transplanting the guts to a non dell case, not quite sure what your asking for..

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:43 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:35 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Trapped inside a virtual machine.
You could always pry off the case badge (Dells always have 'em) and repainting/transfers is always an easy option. Also, hacksaws and/or blowtorches make pretty effects :-) and it certainly wouldn't be recognisable as a Dell afterwards... maybe you could post a photo of it or give the model, since many Dells look different, and we could offer suggestions. Painting is the most obvious though - give it a themed appearance: http://www.techeblog.com/index.php/tech ... -case-mods

I like the Wolfenstein one, although the Doom mod is... imaginative. I once did a Wolfenstein-inspired case repaint, it was rusty grey with red and white striped front panels, and mechanical switches on a blank front plate. It was fun to do, if not terribly brilliant (I'm not such a painting artist). I think there's an old photo of it somewhere, I'll see if I can find it.

Also, http://www.creativemods.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=6

_________________
Home server: Asus P5Q Pro, Core2Quad, 8GB DDR2, ENGTX260 876MB, Zalman 800w, Antec P180 case, 2x1TB and 2x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F1, Windows 7 64-bit, etc

Work server: HP ProLiant ML350 G6, hexacore Xeon E5645 2.4GHz (12 logical cores), 16GB DDR3, 3x300GB SAS RAID5, Server 2008 R2, nVidia GT560Ti 1GB for Hyper-V RemoteFX acceleration


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 2:02 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:10 am
Posts: 2
Location: Middlesex, UK
I'm halfway through a Dell mod myself..
Not the easiest job to do, as the motherboards and cases are built to Dell standard spec. (EI, Not strictly ATX)

A board transplant into another Dell case isn't so hard.
Just means drilling & riveting.
I can well imagine trying to put a Dell system into a standard case being a real PITA!

Mine's pretty basic atm, but it's a server.. so I don't want to overdo it.
http://www.pclincs.co.uk/Forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=8257

It's not a great thread, but I'm gonna update it soon to put the new mods in.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:54 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:35 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Trapped inside a virtual machine.
Hey, that first photo is a Dell PowerEdge 1300/600! I have one of those around here somewhere! I think it's broken up into parts now, but if you (or anyone) want the original motherboard/processors/PSU etc, I could dig them out...

EDIT: I think I sold my dual P3-600s on eBay but I still have the original P3-400 and terminator card, as well as the green air duct and various other bits. Anyway nice thread, keep us up to date with your other projects!

_________________
Home server: Asus P5Q Pro, Core2Quad, 8GB DDR2, ENGTX260 876MB, Zalman 800w, Antec P180 case, 2x1TB and 2x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F1, Windows 7 64-bit, etc

Work server: HP ProLiant ML350 G6, hexacore Xeon E5645 2.4GHz (12 logical cores), 16GB DDR3, 3x300GB SAS RAID5, Server 2008 R2, nVidia GT560Ti 1GB for Hyper-V RemoteFX acceleration


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 10:50 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:10 am
Posts: 2
Location: Middlesex, UK
Thats a dual P2-400, but yeah.. I could certainly use a better pair of CPUs in there. :)

I'll start a proper thread on here later with some updated pics.
More mods planned, so deffo something I should post.
/end hijack. :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group