The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:31 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Laptop LCDs, any uses?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:04 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:35 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Trapped inside a virtual machine.
Okay, I have two old laptops which I've dismantled (an old Toshiba Satellite 220CS and something I can't remember, but roughly both around the 100MHz, 32/64MB mark) and I know I can make Walltops, run various utilities under Linux, etc, but that's not what I'm wondering about.

I'm wondering if I can use the LCDs for anything - either wiring them both to one of the boxes, or else attaching them to a marginally more modern machine. I'm aware that the connectors are varied, and I've searched Google (there are a million threads telling you it's impossible to do anything, but then they all date back to 2000 or 2001) - have there been any advances since then?

Anybody got any ideas?

_________________
Home server: Asus P5Q Pro, Core2Quad, 8GB DDR2, ENGTX260 876MB, Zalman 800w, Antec P180 case, 2x1TB and 2x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F1, Windows 7 64-bit, etc

Work server: HP ProLiant ML350 G6, hexacore Xeon E5645 2.4GHz (12 logical cores), 16GB DDR3, 3x300GB SAS RAID5, Server 2008 R2, nVidia GT560Ti 1GB for Hyper-V RemoteFX acceleration


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 5:09 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Those LCDs are all custom-wired and in order to make it work you have to find out exactly what LCD was used and find a chip with which you can drive that LCD. 99 times out of 100 you will need to build your own video card so to speak. I've been working with LCD screens a few years back and they came in pairs back then. Maybe there's some sort of standard by now.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 8:43 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:35 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Trapped inside a virtual machine.
Nah, these are largely from the last decade, old P1s and P2s. My fastest and best spare laptops are a P3 400MHz and a P3 700Mhz, and those are still in one piece ;-) This thread is from a while back though, I've already come up with other ideas, take a peek at this thread and give me your thoughts...

_________________
Home server: Asus P5Q Pro, Core2Quad, 8GB DDR2, ENGTX260 876MB, Zalman 800w, Antec P180 case, 2x1TB and 2x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F1, Windows 7 64-bit, etc

Work server: HP ProLiant ML350 G6, hexacore Xeon E5645 2.4GHz (12 logical cores), 16GB DDR3, 3x300GB SAS RAID5, Server 2008 R2, nVidia GT560Ti 1GB for Hyper-V RemoteFX acceleration


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 11:03 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 1:05 pm
Posts: 4
I have a P4 17 inch monitor ( hp zd7168cl pavilion computer that only has 64 megs of dedicated video ram. I was curious if you could mod the video screen, keyboard and additional buttons that would slide out from the case so you would only have to pack the case and a single power cord around.the keyboard is a full keyboard and I would use the everything except the mouse. I thought it would be cool to have something like that. It only has the 64 megs dedicated video ram is why I ask. It does have a port replicator on the side and a PCMCIA slot. I did not know if the new ASUS external video card would work on it or not. If not then great parts to mod with!

:!:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 11:18 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:35 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Trapped inside a virtual machine.
ironleg wrote:
I have a P4 17 inch monitor ( hp zd7168cl pavilion


No no no, sell it to me, sell it to me! It sure beats my P3-700MHz machine into the dust, with its 15" monitor and 8MB of VRAM...

_________________
Home server: Asus P5Q Pro, Core2Quad, 8GB DDR2, ENGTX260 876MB, Zalman 800w, Antec P180 case, 2x1TB and 2x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F1, Windows 7 64-bit, etc

Work server: HP ProLiant ML350 G6, hexacore Xeon E5645 2.4GHz (12 logical cores), 16GB DDR3, 3x300GB SAS RAID5, Server 2008 R2, nVidia GT560Ti 1GB for Hyper-V RemoteFX acceleration


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group