Page 1 of 1

I/O Shields

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2002 8:46 am
by Sema4MK
I just bought an ASUS P4S8X mobo and plan on putting it in an old ATX case I have. Since the ASUS mobo has many new I/O ports like onboard sound/LAN and Firewire built in, the rear I/O shield differs from that of what is built into the case. Is there any easy way to replace the old I/O shield or am I going to have to get out the Dremel?

Re: I/O Shields

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2002 5:48 pm
by Starbuck15
Sema4MK wrote:I just bought an ASUS P4S8X mobo and plan on putting it in an old ATX case I have. Since the ASUS mobo has many new I/O ports like onboard sound/LAN and Firewire built in, the rear I/O shield differs from that of what is built into the case. Is there any easy way to replace the old I/O shield or am I going to have to get out the Dremel?


My Asus A7V333 Mobo came with its own I/O shield (a rather flimsy one at that, but it did come with it), I wonder why yours didn't include one.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:52 am
by Sema4MK
Actually my P4S8X mobo did come with one, but my concern is with putting it in my old ATX case.

The old I/O shield is built into the case and am confused with what they want me to do with the new one.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2002 6:13 am
by Starbuck15
Sema4MK wrote:Actually my P4S8X mobo did come with one, but my concern is with putting it in my old ATX case.

The old I/O shield is built into the case and am confused with what they want me to do with the new one.


Hmmmm, I can only think that you would have to cut it out and find some way to apply the new I/O shield. You probably have an older or more generic case that doesn't have swappable I/O shields. Are you sure its directly attached, and not just clipped in some way? My case had the same kind of I/O shield as my Mobo (its a Lian-Li though :wink: ), except with different slots for ports (My mobo has a built in sound chip). If you cut it out to the size of you're old one (make the fit a little tight, if its too tight, you can always sand off some more. But if it's too lose, you're kind of screwed :P ).