The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 12:58 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 5:16 am
Posts: 106
Location: Brisbane, australia
:? greetings people :?
:arrow: ive got a little problem... (as always :roll: :roll: ). it has to do with my trying to install an ATX system into an AT case... now, it has proved so far to be a peice of p*ss... but ive run into a problem... the on/off switch on an AT case is different to that on an ATX computer. is it possible to buy an ATX on/off switch and install it into my case... or should i try to modify the current AT switch so that it works with an ATX motherboard...hrmm...but that sounds tricky...
anyway- cheers :arrow:

_________________
.............................rhysp3ct...........................
Strange that we all defend our wrongs with more vigor than we do our rights.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 2:27 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 2842
Location: Downey, CA
You can hook up the reset switch cable, and use the reset switch as the on/off switch.

Actually, any momentary contact switch (like the reset) will work for that purpose.

You can use the turbo button, if you have one, but you will have to press it twice. The turbo button locks into each position (on/off), and if you dont press it a second time, the PC will power up, and then shut off again.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 7:47 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 5:16 am
Posts: 106
Location: Brisbane, australia
thanks a heap... guess thattll keep me busy for the next couple of days!
cya

_________________
.............................rhysp3ct...........................
Strange that we all defend our wrongs with more vigor than we do our rights.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2003 1:06 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm
Posts: 2575
this may be a stupid question....but why dont you just buy a generic atx case that costs like $30 :?:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2003 8:58 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 5:16 am
Posts: 106
Location: Brisbane, australia
well... it wasnt a stupid question... it was quite a smart one... but thing is, i bought it off eb*y, and after it was ordered i realised id done something stupid... and not checked what i should have checked. But, every challenge is a good one i guess, and hopefully ill fix the problems AT cases hold and get on with my case modding!
another thing... i couldnt find an ATX case as large as the AT one i got. An ATX thats the same size as my AT would cost around $90... so i got the AT for $10... :)

_________________
.............................rhysp3ct...........................
Strange that we all defend our wrongs with more vigor than we do our rights.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2003 9:02 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm
Posts: 2575
ok i see now. have fun tryin to get everything to fit and work


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group