Installing the switch

Resources, guides, discussions for modding your system.

Installing the switch

Postby son0rous » Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:33 pm

i'm installing a thermaltake cold cathode light in my case. it says you have to drill or cut a hole to put the switch in. i'm gonna install the switch on the viewing window of my case but i'm not sure what type of drill bit i should use. can u guys give me some help, or should i get it professionally done
son0rous
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2575
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm

Postby LOGAN-MR » Fri Jan 24, 2003 1:47 am

I would say use a bit made for drilling plastics.
And make sure you tape up the area so it doesnt crack on you
XP3200+
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB PC3200
3 X WD 80GB SE
FX5600 256MB
SONY DRU-540A
SONY DDU-1621
ASUS 52X CDRW
XP PRO
LOGAN-MR
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 4:23 am

Postby Wookie8662 » Fri Jan 24, 2003 3:30 am

Tape up both sides of the plastic in the area you will be drilling.
Place the plastic flat, on a surface (piece of plywood is fine) that you dont mind hurting with the drill bit. It will provide support, and will keep the back side from shattering, as the drill bit breaks through.

Use a new (sharp as possible) drill bit, run it on a slow speed, and use very little pressure.
Image
Wookie8662
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2842
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Downey, CA

Postby son0rous » Fri Jan 24, 2003 11:09 am

will n e type of tape do?
son0rous
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2575
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm

Postby psyte » Fri Jan 24, 2003 12:52 pm

smurf_pimp wrote:will n e type of tape do?


Pretty much. I usually use 2" masking tape since it covers more area.
psyte
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2002 6:10 pm
Location: CA

Postby NascarFool » Fri Feb 21, 2003 2:44 am

I used a 3/4" spade bit to drill a hole in a 3.5" bay cover. The bit had to sharp points on the outside edge. It worked perfectly.
NascarFool
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 6:39 pm

Postby knif_00 » Sun Mar 02, 2003 5:04 am

You could always put a switch in like I did on a blank 5-1/4 " bay

id post a pic but geocites blows
Asus A7V333 Raid w/ AMD Athlon XP 1700+ DLT3C 0319@ 2.16 cooled via Thermalright AX-7 and an 80mm crystal led fan from SVC, 512 MB Corsair XMS PC3200 'LL' DDR, ATi Radeon 9800XT 256MB
knif_00
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 11:12 am
Location: Southern Illinois

Postby knif_00 » Sun Mar 02, 2003 5:04 am

You could always put a switch in like I did on a blank 5-1/4 " bay
http://www.geocities.com/knif_00/images/CaseModLit.jpg
Asus A7V333 Raid w/ AMD Athlon XP 1700+ DLT3C 0319@ 2.16 cooled via Thermalright AX-7 and an 80mm crystal led fan from SVC, 512 MB Corsair XMS PC3200 'LL' DDR, ATi Radeon 9800XT 256MB
knif_00
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 11:12 am
Location: Southern Illinois


Return to System Modification

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests