The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 6:36 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
The ugly monster growls again! Lost video again, maybe after 9 hours operation. Switched to #2 video port, video good! That was last night.
This morning, had an older LCD monitor on #1 port, the NEC monitor on #2 port. Same problems as before.. berserk video after 5 mins. and had to do several hard resets. Guess the GTX280 has been damaged from the "bad caps" plague. Weirder yet, no desktop on #1 video, only on #2 video. Then the mouse pointer is gone on #2 port, only #1 port now!
Looks like I have to get another video card. Image

A curse on whoever is responsible for the "bad caps" plague. They should be made to muck stalls with bare feet for 10,000 hours!!!
But that is a personal thought. Image

Edit 20:45..05/18..
Shut the system down until a new video card is had. Bad artifacts, system freeze.. several hard resets and still problems.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 2:26 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Check the power supply as well Karl... This cr*ppy cap stuff is everywhere...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 5:57 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
The PSU is an Antec 650 watt TP3- 650. Antec touts that they use only high-quality caps in it. Have checked voltages several times, and all are within +/- 1% under load.
The replacement mobo is identical to the old, except for the BIOS date.. and quality caps are on it.. not questionable ones. Did check that!!
The video stays good if only the desktop themes and F@H screen saver run. But if doing the F@H process or DVD video, video goes berserk.. and system freezes. Have checked that the refresh rate and resolution are as set. Power scheme as set also.. the video and hard drive 'never shut down'.
The video card is locked down solid in its slot. No other add-in device cards.
Only other major component now suspect is the video card. Did a memory test, came through great. BIOS settings for bus speeds are at default. Memory speed is set via SPD. The 1394 feature is disabled, as too the secondary SATA controller. Only one hard drive. Diagnostics show system temps well within the "normal" range.
This is costing me twice what it should have. :(

Update 05/23..
Got a 'manufacturer refurbished' GTX280 on eBay for about $150.00 USD. Should arrive in maybe 3~5 days. If this does not cure the problem, will go with a 100% new GTX460.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 11:10 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
Got the replacement GTX280 in the mail today. Back on line at 15:00 hrs. EDT.
Doing the F@H process, will see if all is OK.
Windows 7 needs an attitude adjustment! Even if the same device is replaced, it wants reactivation!!!!! PDT_Armataz_01_02
Had to reactivate with replacement of an identical mobo.. and now the GTX280.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 8:43 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3670
Location: Washington D.C.
Karlsweldt wrote:
Had to reactivate with replacement of an identical mobo.. and now the GTX280.


the mobo I understand, but a vga card????!!!! weird.

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 12:45 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Something with High-Def Audio device changing as well so a multi-component swap that can trigger a reactivation too? Something along those lines...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 6:55 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
Could accept the reactivation issue if the device type or model was changed.. but an exact replacement, maybe only an inception date or BIOS date change? Embedded serial numbers?
True, MS has a severe problem (most other industries too) with piracy and counterfeiting, but this is a bit over the line.
The system worked great yesterday, 15 hours folding. Exhaust temps are similar to before.
Going to keep an older Viewsonic 15" LCD on it as default. The screen has a blue cipher down the center, but not a problem.
Did note one other change. The HDD activity light was on constant with the other GTX280, now it blinks randomly.. normally!
Hope I can find a repair site for the old GTX280. If about $100.00 USD cost, worth it. Just don't have the patience and steady nerves anymore, to open it.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:59 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
Can't believe I have the video problem again!!!
Shut down properly Sunday at midnight, gave the system at least two minutes at low-load to properly cool down, so no 'heat-soak' effects.
This morning, the problem is back. After even just the F@H screensaver, the video is berserk and the system doesn't respond. My patience with this is near the boiling point!!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 1:37 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
After some testing, all voltages are normal.. no sign of any bad caps on the mobo. The memory tests out perfectly. Video is 'solid' if kept off the F@H process or screen saver, up to 1 hour! Choked on the Sandra GPU testing.
So going to get a GTX460 for $ 225.00 USD, 100% totally brand-new. Image
Delivery by June 12th. Then here we go again, Win7 reactivation????
Specs on the GTX460:
Graphics Clock 650 MHz
Processor Clock 1300 MHz
CUDA Cores 336, 1024 meg DDR5
Max. GPU Temperature 104 C.
Max. Graphics Card Power 150 W @ 12v.
Requires one (1) 6-pin auxiliary PCI-E 12 volt power set.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:08 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2740
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
that's interesting, because i used to have a 560, then a 560ti, then two 560ti's in SLI and now a 660ti...and during all the swapping in and out and RMAs/etc, i never had to reactivate my Win7 install...

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group