The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: BIOS string tip:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 8:26 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
It is often difficult to write down the BIOS string from the screen, when the POST regimen is running. By pulling the keyboard plug before powering on, the screen should halt with the BIOS string present, prompting for the "No keyboard detected. Press 'F1' to continue, 'F2 to enter BIOS setup". The [pause] button may halt the screen, but not always.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 8:09 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 1522
Location: Troy N.Y.
That is a sure way to stop the post.
The error message you get really cracks me up tho :lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 12:42 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
If that fails, make sure the BIOS is set to halt on keyboard errors - or unplug the FDD - that'll stop it!

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Last edited by ~PJ~ on Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:01 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 4:04 pm
Posts: 1451
Location: las vegas nevada
or,
just hit the pause / break key and it will pause where ever it is at. just hit it again to get it going again.
AJ

_________________
coming soon to an over clockers dream near you:
EVGA 790i tri SLI
intel core2 quad 9550
6gb G.SKILL DDR3 16000
3X EVGA 8800gts video cards
water cooled fo sho
the rest when i get paid
PS... im gonna break 4ghz easily....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:40 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
ajrox wrote:
or,
just hit the pause / break key and it will pause where ever it is at. just hit it again to get it going again.
AJ


these days you need to be VERY fast on some systems as the really SPRINT through their post :lol:

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group