The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:00 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: win xp 137Gb barrier
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 10:16 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2002 6:41 am
Posts: 548
Ok here's the set up dual 800's, 320gb drives, onboard video sound etc... Intel chipset....(Not sure which one just this second)

I keep gettin blasted with this 137Gb cap and it wont see the rest of the drive............
How do I get past this....?????? I would like to have full drives, not 1/2 drives...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 12:14 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Use a slipstreamed SP2 or SP3 CD. XP vanilla and SP1 have this issue.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 5:47 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
If you use the option to create the 'maximum size' partition for primary use, then there may be no "space" left to create any extended partition needs. Check the size noted for the maximum partition size, and lower it by two or three numbers of the LSD (last significant digit). Set as 'primary', then create the extended partition and drive partitions. Not a new problem.
If the limit noted is 137 Gb, then create a 130 Gb primary partition.. and now you should be able to use all the hdd space, less about 1% or so for the OS setup info partition.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:27 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
Evasive is correct. You need at least SP2 to see anything larger than 137gb. SP3 is still available for download through Microsoft, it should be in your Update list.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group