Vista 32-bit only supports 2gb ram max?

A place where the most common PC questions are already answered for you.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Vista 32-bit only supports 2gb ram max?

Postby leasoncre » Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:19 am

I read that 32-bit vista doesn’t support more than 2gb of ram, is this true? (if it is, that is retarded)
leasoncre
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 11:00 pm

Postby Karlsweldt » Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:39 am

Yes, it does.. but not beyond 3.2 Gb realistically. This is due to the number of total memory "handles" that can be assigned, and takes into account the hard drive storage, system memory, and paging needs plus file sizes.
Memory limits per OS type:
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20672
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby Mr T » Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:39 am

No, it will support anywhere between 2.5 and about 3.5Gb of RAM, same for ANY 32bit windows and linux based operating system.... If you want more 64bit is the way to go....
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17088
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby leasoncre » Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:27 pm

So what your saying is that vista 32bit only supports 2gb of memory after system requirements.
First there's as much space as the system needs, then theres a limit of 2gb for user-level applications.
does that sound right?

I hear vista 64bit still lacks adaquate support and some functionality. How much better is vista 64bit, really? what advantages does it have over 32bit?
leasoncre
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 11:00 pm

Postby Roach412 » Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:07 pm

nope, not quite.

you can ONLY use 2.5-3.5 gb of system memory for the system. this includes windows as well as all user applications.

64-bit vista handles 64-bit applications...that's your advantage. eventually 64-bit will be what you need, and 32-bit will phase out. albeit, it'll take a while before that happens - so i wouldn't worry about it.

i'll continue to use xp until they pry it from my cold, dead fingers-on-my-keyboard.

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2716
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin


Return to MBHW Q&A

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest