The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 2:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Compaq Presario 5716
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2007 10:01 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:41 am
Posts: 3
I have been searching and searching for what type of motherboard is in this computer, but I cant seem to find it just wondering what type it is (atx, etc.).
Once this is figured out i was also wondering what kind of processors would work on it...?

THANKS FOR THE HELP IN ADVANCE


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:27 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:40 pm
Posts: 3529
Location: U.K.
Try this free download,
http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

Will give you plenty of info such as-: motherboard, processor, memory, harddrive make and size, software installed and product key( hand if you lost your os key).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:51 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
Welcome to Motherboards.org!
This query would be better if posted in the "Motherboards Identification" folder. A Mod may see fit to move it.

Look over the surface of the motherboard, for printed notations about a manufacturer or model number. There is an older-style AT motherboard, with just the dime-sized keyboard port at the rear. Then there is the LPX model of motherboard, with a single main slot for a 'riser' card for devices. It had most of the ports in a row along the back. Then there is the true ATX type motherboard, with the ports in a group at one end of the back.
Most motherboard types are the socket style, for mounting a processor. Some had a long slot instead, for a specific type of processor. A standard motherboard would have more than five device slots.. while the "micro" style may have only two or three.
If the system is operable, then a lineage can be easily obtained. But if not working, then markings on the board as well as other features would need to be posted for better ID.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 10:17 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:41 am
Posts: 3
Well from the software that was given to me i found out...

Compaq Compaq PC
System Serial Number: 1X96CLQ2W5VL
Enclosure Type: Mini-Tower
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
500 megahertz Intel Pentium III
32 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: Compaq 0568h
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
BIOS: Compaq 686S1 01/18/2000
Drives Memory Modules c,d
160.03 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
116.71 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

HL-DT-ST RW/DVD GCC-4521B [CD-ROM drive]
3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

IOMEGA ZIP 100 [Hard drive] -- drive 1
WDC WD1600AAJB-00PVA0 [Hard drive] (160.04 GB) -- drive 0, s/n WD-WMAP99222313, rev 00.07H00, SMART Status: Healthy


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:35 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
Should be 'decent' for general use and Web-surfing, but don't expect great performance from an older P III design. They were limited to about 1 GHz speed. And those mini-towers are generally not upgradeable, having special needs for PSU or mobo.
Our "Compaq-Fu" Mod may know more about its possibilities for improving performance. But you may be limited to "what is" with the beast.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:11 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:41 am
Posts: 3
well im just trying to figure out what size the board is thats all...??


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 9:25 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
For 'standard' mid- or full-tower/desktop cases, nearly any mobo model will fit. But there are many design restrictions for the mATX form factor. Interference protrusions for device/case mounts are critical to where the mobo components are located.
There may be some specific mount problems among manufacturer names, but that is quite obvious in viewing.

The base distinction between the "baby" or "micro" boards and "full-size" boards is their size.. the previous types are roughly square, where the latter are quite rectangular, being longer by about 25%.

Here is a Wiki link to motherboard form factors.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:02 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 9:33 pm
Posts: 887
Location: NH
Read Review of Compaq Presario 5716 (122680-053) PC Desktop

http://www.epinions.com/content_123498958468

_________________
I tried using a "Point of View Gun", but my aim was lousy. ;-)

ASUS K8N, AMD Sempron 3100+(1.8ghz), 1gb RAM, eVGA 5500FX 256mb AGP, two WD120gb SATA drives in RAID 0 (striping), 450w power supply.

Fold well, so that others may prosper.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:10 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 9:33 pm
Posts: 887
Location: NH
Quote:
well im just trying to figure out what size the board is thats all...??


You're right. Figuring out what size and configuration the motherboard and computer case are is a pain in the posterior. Fortunately there is some help available.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motherboard_form_factor

Unless you want to modify your existing case to accept another form-factor of motherboard (ATX or microATX), it's probably more cost-effective to purchase a new case in order to make upgrading to a new Motherboard/CPU/RAM combination easier.
I suggest a new power supply too.

_________________
I tried using a "Point of View Gun", but my aim was lousy. ;-)

ASUS K8N, AMD Sempron 3100+(1.8ghz), 1gb RAM, eVGA 5500FX 256mb AGP, two WD120gb SATA drives in RAID 0 (striping), 450w power supply.

Fold well, so that others may prosper.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group