The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:49 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:21 pm
Posts: 751
Location: Illinois
Hello all...

Obviously, I am still somewhat in the dark ages as far as a computer goes, but until I can afford Core2Duo, I have no intentions of upgrading. I am, however, interested in getting as much as I can out of this system until I can go Core2Duo.

With that said, a Looooooooooooooong time ago I posted about overclocking and it wasn't an option at that time due to the lack of VCore and RAM Voltage adjustments. Thanks to a BIOS upgrade, I now have those options available to me. So, I am interested in trying this again. Here are the specs on my machine:

Pentium 4 2.8GHz/533MHz/512K FSB "Northwood" Socket 478 Processor
---Stock Intel Heatsink and Fan
ECS L4VXA2 Motherboard
---Passive Northbridge cooling
2x512MB Hyundai PC3200 RAM and 1x512MB Bravo PC2700 RAM
---This may be my next deathpoint for overclocking...
ATI X800GTO 256MB AGP 8x Video Card
---Active cooling
Western Digital WD800JB 80GB/8MB Hard Drive
---Has a dual-fan cooler mounted on the bottom
2x Optical Drives
Mid-Tower Case
---4x80mm Fans in front (as intake)
---1x80mm Fan on side (as intake)
---1x120mm Fan on rear (as exhaust)
Thermaltake 430W PSU
---2x80mm Fans on this unit

Here are the current settings (stock):

CPU: 2.8GHz
FSB: 533MHz
VCore: 1.50V
DDR: 333MHz (FSB+33MHz)---Auto Detect
DRAM: 2.5-3-3-6---Auto Detect
VRam: 1.8V---Auto Detect
AGP: 66MHz (No Ratio Lock available)
PCI: 33MHz (No Ratio Lock available)
Auto-Detect PCI/DIMM Clk: Enabled

Here are the options I have available with the updated BIOS:

FSB: 133MHz to 165MHz in 1MHz increments
VCore: Stock, +2%, +4%, +6%
DDR: 133MHz, 166MHz, 200MHz
DRAM: Not sure what the maximums are here...If you NTK, I'll find out
VRam: Stock, +2%, +4%, +6%

If I leave everything alone and just increase the FSB, I can only get to 139MHz without an "IRQ_Less_Than_Or_Equal_To" blue screen upon startup. I assume this is probably memory-related, but I've never changed those options so I would like some guidance there.

Some questions here off the bat:

1) Should the memory be set to 133MHz to match the FSB (instead of the 166MHz which is FSB+33MHz)?

2) Should I install heatspreaders on the memory to assist with cooling (even with all the case cooling I have)?

3) Would I be better off removing the PC2700 memory stick from my system and just running with 1GB of PC3200 rather than 1.5GB in PC2700 mode?

I look forward to everyone's comments and suggestions (with the exception of "get a new machine"...lol). Thanks in advance for the help.


Jason

_________________
My Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=48800

System 1: 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4, 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM, 1x500GB HDD & 1x1TB HDD, Palit GTS 250 1GB
System 2: 3.0GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR2-800 RAM, 120GB HDD, BFG 7800GTX 256MB
System 3: Dual-533MHz PowerMac G4 Digital Audio, 1.5GB RAM, 120GB HDD


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:56 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:18 pm
Posts: 2098
Location: West Midlands UK
Well not probably the answer you want to hear,but I would not bother overclocking anything...why bother...that system will cope ok for the time being...you wont see much gain except increased heat and more strain on the system as a whole.

I would trim down the programmes you have and clean up the machine to perform better...

But if you really must overclock, then I am sure favourable posts will follow...afterall this is an overclocking section and I should have not posted in the first place :lol:

Good luck what ever you decide to do :wink:

_________________
"Take counsel in wine, but resolve afterwards in water."
Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:38 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
Dark ages huh? I got you beat in that category!!! A Socket 478 2.6GHz Celeron with only a 400MHz FSB. :o

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:03 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 4:04 pm
Posts: 1451
Location: las vegas nevada
drop your memory speed down. if it is running at 200mhz then drop it to 166mhz, if it is running at 166 then try running it at 133mhz. now try that over clock. and benchmark after every over clock that you want to keep. this way you will know if it is running as predicted. i cant tell you how many people i have seen push thier PC to the limmit and wonder why it runs like ass. well when you push it that hard, errors will follow.
so once you find that happy medium, go with it.
you could upgrade your memory to something that will allow you to over clock a little better.
you might look for a setting in your BIOS that will allow you to lock the memory bus. if you have that, enable it and try again.
do not raise core voltages unless you absolutly have to. most common cause of overheating and killing CPU, memory and video cards...
hope that helps.

_________________
coming soon to an over clockers dream near you:
EVGA 790i tri SLI
intel core2 quad 9550
6gb G.SKILL DDR3 16000
3X EVGA 8800gts video cards
water cooled fo sho
the rest when i get paid
PS... im gonna break 4ghz easily....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:20 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:21 pm
Posts: 751
Location: Illinois
Hi all...

First of all, thanks for all the input.

ajrox: I'll drop the memory bus down to 133MHz to match the Front Side Bus speed and lock it there and see if that helps. I don't really want to upgrade this right now as my next path is Core2Duo and it uses a completely different type of memory (DDR2), so I don't really want to spend much money on this machine between now and then. I'm not looking for a huge overclock...I'd be happy with 3GHz to make Oblivion run a little smoother. Thanks for the info!


Jason

_________________
My Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=48800

System 1: 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4, 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM, 1x500GB HDD & 1x1TB HDD, Palit GTS 250 1GB
System 2: 3.0GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR2-800 RAM, 120GB HDD, BFG 7800GTX 256MB
System 3: Dual-533MHz PowerMac G4 Digital Audio, 1.5GB RAM, 120GB HDD


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 8:11 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 1:41 pm
Posts: 1135
Just took a look at this. You definitely need to remove the one stick of 2700 memory. Your other memory may not overclock so if you can lock it you should. Have seen lots of people take a 2.8 to 3.6 or better, but dont know about yours. Trial and error.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 9:56 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:21 pm
Posts: 751
Location: Illinois
Hi there, beaconengr...

I did remove the stick of 2700 memory. That made a difference. With that stick in, I couldn't even overclock 1MHz...Once removed, I got it to go to a 139MHz FSB (556MHz effective). That got me up to 2.92GHz.

I have a feeling that heat is a major issue with my overclocking ability plus the limitation of not being able to lock my AGP and PCI bus speeds. My machine idles at 45*C and, under load (which it always is as it runs Folding@Home 24/7), it sits at 77*C. I have a couple of new, higher-cfm case fans on the way and heatspreaders for my memory to try and combat the heat issue. That 77*C makes me a little nervous...

Thanks,
Jason

_________________
My Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=48800

System 1: 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4, 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM, 1x500GB HDD & 1x1TB HDD, Palit GTS 250 1GB
System 2: 3.0GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR2-800 RAM, 120GB HDD, BFG 7800GTX 256MB
System 3: Dual-533MHz PowerMac G4 Digital Audio, 1.5GB RAM, 120GB HDD


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group