P5N32 SLI SE and E6300

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

P5N32 SLI SE and E6300

Postby jrmcwill » Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:28 am

Here's my setup:
Intel E6300 Core 2 Duo=Conroe
Asus P5N32 SLI SE Deluxe mobo
1Gb G.Skill PC2 6400
2X7800GTOC SLI
2xSeagate SATA 3.0Gb/s
Air

This thing runs out stock settings in BIOS like this
FSB-1066Mhz but goes up to 1600
RAM-800Mhz but goes to 1000
vcore-1.3
vdimm-1.9
Chipset@800Mhz on NB and SB but has settings from 200-1000
I can set it with the Asus AI Overclocking to 20% and it boots fine at 2.2Ghz. I can set the FSB to 1400 and RAM to 1000 while bumping the vcore to 1.35 and the vdimm to 2.0 and leaving the chipsets at 800, it will Post at 2.4 but not boot into Windows. Running the Beta BIOS 0501, maybe I need to go back to 0401?

Some screenies:

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

Need some suggestions here please, this is my first Intel..... :o
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=30388

Asus Maximus IV Extreme Skt.1155
Intel i7-2700k @ 4.5Ghz
16Gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
2 x EVGA GTX460's
Corsair 1500W PSU
water on CPU

Asus Crosshair V Formula
FX-8120 @ 3.8Ghz
8Gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
ATI 3870x2
jrmcwill
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Kansas

Postby jrmcwill » Sat Oct 14, 2006 4:04 pm

Gee nobody else out there got one?

:roll:
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=30388

Asus Maximus IV Extreme Skt.1155
Intel i7-2700k @ 4.5Ghz
16Gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
2 x EVGA GTX460's
Corsair 1500W PSU
water on CPU

Asus Crosshair V Formula
FX-8120 @ 3.8Ghz
8Gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
ATI 3870x2
jrmcwill
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Kansas

Try this too...

Postby zx_vulcan » Tue Oct 17, 2006 4:31 am

zx_vulcan
 

Postby Sabrewings » Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:47 am

I don't think many members here have one, and if they do they're not the hardcore overclocking crowd. If I were getting one soon, I'd write an overclocker's guide for it but I've put my Conroe plans on the back burner for a while...
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA

Postby jeff kushner » Tue Oct 17, 2006 7:13 am

I have a very similar setup and it screams...I'm having a little trouble setting up my SLI configuration and I'm actually amazed that the level of talent on this board has dropped so much over the past couple of year since no one has really been able to help but I'll figure it out, I always do given enough time.........you'll be really happy!
Asus P5N32sli SE Deluxe
Conroe 6600
2 sticks of 1-gig Crucial memory
1- WD320gig IDE drive(for OS)
1-WD400 SATA drive
CDRW, Cd-52speed
NEC DVD/RW
650w PS
Audigy 2 ZS
2- GS7600, 1 w/256mb, 1 w/512mb
Klipsch speakers
Linksys wireless
jeff kushner
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 12:47 am

Postby jrmcwill » Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:45 am

Yeah, well Jeff I wish I had held out for a "Premium" board like yours or for the P5B. Word is that they O/C much better, I can get about 22% more out of this one but I know guys with the same cpu that are getting about 90% more.....
I can do 2.2Ghz easy, but one of my buddies can do 3.5Ghz with a different mobo and an E6300 like mine.
O/C options on this board seem weak..... PDT_Armataz_01_02
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=30388

Asus Maximus IV Extreme Skt.1155
Intel i7-2700k @ 4.5Ghz
16Gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
2 x EVGA GTX460's
Corsair 1500W PSU
water on CPU

Asus Crosshair V Formula
FX-8120 @ 3.8Ghz
8Gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
ATI 3870x2
jrmcwill
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Kansas

Postby jeff kushner » Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:07 pm

Jrm..., I might have my mobo model # wrong, I'll have to check the box...I have 800 speed ddr-2 and 2 ide connectors...most of the p5n32 models have only one but mine has two....also, the other p5n32sli boards don't support 800 ram like mine but only 667. Like I said, I'll check it tonight an amend my sig if I need to.

I'm not up to OC it, it's plenty fast with the 2.4ghz conroe(6600)....I'd be afraid of smoking all that cash that I dropped this past weekend<LOL>!!

I'm sure that your system screams though....and that's the point...run fast!! Don't wish you'd waited cause you'll be able to do that forever...you took the plunge and got a nice board....nothing wrong with that. If you are always afraid of "what they'll come out with next", you'll never be happy buying anything!

Have fun!
Asus P5N32sli SE Deluxe
Conroe 6600
2 sticks of 1-gig Crucial memory
1- WD320gig IDE drive(for OS)
1-WD400 SATA drive
CDRW, Cd-52speed
NEC DVD/RW
650w PS
Audigy 2 ZS
2- GS7600, 1 w/256mb, 1 w/512mb
Klipsch speakers
Linksys wireless
jeff kushner
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 12:47 am

Postby fat85crxzc » Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:40 pm

sweet im building the same set up well sorta.. I got a p5n32-sli se motherboard and a e6300 cpu.. just waiting to find a good price for some ram and a video card and ill be up and running.. hopefully this board has atleast some good overclocking features on it , from what i understood is that this was the best mobo for the core 2 duo especially since its the only sli board that supports the core 2 duo's..

anybody got any ddr2 for cheap LOL??
fat85crxzc
 


Return to Overclockers Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest