No more than 12.5-13%??

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

No more than 12.5-13%??

Postby kokalo » Sat May 27, 2006 3:12 am

I've recently purchased a cheap upgrade from a Duron 1300 to a Sempron64 2600 (1600 core speed).

The only Motherboard that fitted all the requirements was an ECS 761GX-M754 (micro-ATX, S754, PCI-e 16, O/B Video).

With the 8x multiplier, simply by adjusting the clock from 200 to 205, 210, 215, 220 and 225, I was able to overclock the CPU and get it stable at 1800 (running F@H @ 95% CPU load for over 2 weeks now, CPU temp 51*C after a whole day of running). Which is a 12.5% increase, or 13% as Everest reports it.

The weird issue is, although the memory clock is meant to be separatly adjustable in BIOS (and I left it @ 200), Everest sees the memory as running at 225 too. (Which is not a big issue, because the RAM I selected is a high-latency but stable Legend DDR400 @ 3-3-3-8 )

Also, as soon as I tried to boot the PC with clock @ 230, it wouldn't start. The fans would spin up, the optical drive would give a sign of life but that was it. I had to reset CMOS to get back into BIOS and wind the clock from default 200 back up to 225. And it sits there quite fine.

The HSF is the retail AMD supplied issue, but I don't think that is the problem (yet).

Any ideas on keeping the RAM speed down and increasing the clock speed?

The CPU is a Venice S754 Sempron64 with 64k+64k/128k (L1/L2) cache.
ImageImage

P3! (No, not PIII)
kokalo
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Downunder (NZ)

Postby aussiejunior » Sun May 28, 2006 7:54 pm

My guess is that it would be your ram... i had legend ram in my old rig and it didn't like anything to do with overclocking.. Even 15 mhz and it seemed to be unstable... Try changing to a better brand such as corsair or hyunix or even mushkin they are all good for oc'ing
aussiejunior
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 3:42 pm
Location: Ararat Vic Australia

Postby kokalo » Mon May 29, 2006 3:55 am

This is actually Legend-distributed RAM with Hynix chips...

With the clock @ 225MHz (including memory), the system is "Solid As A Rock"...
ImageImage

P3! (No, not PIII)
kokalo
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Downunder (NZ)

Postby aussiejunior » Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:11 am

Not too bad then lol.. The deal with the memory is once you start upping the fsb the memory speed increases alos.. Have u tried upping the voltage alil on the ram by .1v or so?
If that doesn't work try raising youre timings alil from 3 3 3 8
to 3 4 4 8 and see if that works
aussiejunior
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 3:42 pm
Location: Ararat Vic Australia

Postby kokalo » Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:08 am

Unfortunatelly, the BIOS doesn't allow for that, I don't think ECS has designed this motherboard for overclocking. I can't adjust the voltage or the latency....

But hey, for the cheap system (and I've added a PowerColor X700/256 for NZ$140 recently) it is just fine.

It even encodes video faster than my old Palomino with similar core speed, similar RAM/Graphics and bigger L2 cache... :P
ImageImage

P3! (No, not PIII)
kokalo
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Downunder (NZ)


Return to Overclockers Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest