Getting into the CMOS setup to overclock an AMD K-6 233MHZ.

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Getting into the CMOS setup to overclock an AMD K-6 233MHZ.

Postby The Disturbance » Mon May 27, 2002 2:34 pm

I want to overclock an AMD K-6 233Mhz in my IBM Aptiva to about 266 or 300Mhz. The PC runs fine now...but when I open Powerpoint 2000 (I installed) it goes away in about 2-10 seconds and I can't do anything. The processor still has the original HS/F on it. And also the same powdery type substance (I'm guessing it's a cooler...) on it. Also will the method work on my Compaq AMD Athlon XP..that is set to 1.52 Ghz instead of 1.53Ghz? I want to increase it a little with out destroying it or having to change the core voltage...
The Disturbance
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 6:44 am
Location: RI

Postby Tolemac » Mon May 27, 2002 4:28 pm

Basically what you're saying is that Powerpoint stops running after a small amount of time. If that is in fact the case, it has very little, if anything, to do with the clock speed of the CPU. It sounds to me like you have a software glitch in either Powerpoint or the OS.

Do you have the manual or jumper setting for that board? If you do, then find which jumpers are needed to be set to up the FSB to 75 or 83MHz. That will give you your overclock.

As for the Compaq XP 1800+, what model number is it?
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby The Disturbance » Mon May 27, 2002 4:57 pm

The Compaq is 8000Z.
1.52 note the 2
512MB DDR
80GB HD
GF2 MX400 Video
The Disturbance
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 6:44 am
Location: RI

Postby Hardware Junkie » Mon May 27, 2002 5:06 pm

You cannot overclock the 8000Z model, the options for setting the multiplier and FSB have been removed from the BIOS. The BIOS simply detects the CPU and configures it appropriately.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby The Disturbance » Mon May 27, 2002 5:09 pm

DOH!!! I guess I'll have to make my own PC with an ABit motherboard.
The Disturbance
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 6:44 am
Location: RI

Postby Tolemac » Tue May 28, 2002 1:20 am

The boneheads at Compaq merely mis-printed the number. It is most definitely a 1.53GHz Athlon XP1800+ 8)
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby atang1 » Tue May 28, 2002 1:20 am

On K6 or K6-2, a S370 or Sa heatsink really helps in overclocking. S7 heatsinks are not qualified to overclock K6. The large heatsinks with fan is only $1.99(before they sell out and you get one free bonus too) in Las Vegas, Computer surplus outlet. You will have fun soupping it up.

Powerpoint could be long enough in codes(but not the earlier free version) to cause an overheating situation.
atang1
 

Postby Tolemac » Tue May 28, 2002 1:49 am

atang1, there's no way that Powerpoint is going to cause an overheating problem within 10 seconds. It just wouldn't happen. :roll:
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge


Return to Overclockers Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron