6800 Unlocking/Overclocking Experiences

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
Contact:

Post by Sabrewings »

Oylpann wrote:Maybe a dumb question here, but should it make a difference if the 6800 card is AGP or PCIe?

Just curious. :)
It shouldn't, no. I'd have to do more research for sure, but I don't think it will since there's only a bridge chip changing the signals. No other physical difference.
[img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v317/sabrewings/random%20stuff/mobosig52.jpg[/img][img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v317/sabrewings/fft.gif[/img]
[url=http://recordingindustryvspeople.blogspot.com/][b]RIAA vs The People[/b][/url]
Oylpann
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3844
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 7:42 pm
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Contact:

Post by Oylpann »

Yes, I would really appreciate it if you would. I'm kind of torn between wanting to try this out or just spending the dough and getting a 6800GT. $100 is alot of money saved, but if I fry the card? Thats $300 down the drain. I think I'm going to go for it though! :twisted:

Hopefully I can get started on this project around July or August :)

I'm definately going to go PCIe regardless.
"You cant hug your family with Nuclear Arms"

Asus F2A85-V Pro
AMD A10-5800K APU @ 4.5GHz
8GB G. Skill 1866
550w PSU
Hyper 212 Evo
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
Contact:

Post by Sabrewings »

Moved to sticky. Image
[img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v317/sabrewings/random%20stuff/mobosig52.jpg[/img][img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v317/sabrewings/fft.gif[/img]
[url=http://recordingindustryvspeople.blogspot.com/][b]RIAA vs The People[/b][/url]
YouGiveMeRash!!!
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 6772
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: Fast, Cheap, and Reliable- You can only choose 2
Contact:

Post by YouGiveMeRash!!! »

Oylpann wrote:
Maybe a dumb question here, but should it make a difference if the 6800 card is AGP or PCIe?

Just curious.
This mod is only for AGP cards.
[b]Main rig:[/b] 1/2" ID Water Cooled Lian-Li V2000B, Abit IP35 Pro, Intel C2D [email protected] -3.4ghz 1.3375v, Mushkin 2gb DDR2-800 996576, one terabyte storage, evga 7900GS KO w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu cooler, Swiftech Apogee GT water block, Ultra X2 550w PSU
[b]Laptop:[/b] Asus Z70VA, Pentium M 725 [email protected] -2.13ghz (pinmod), ATI X700 Pro, 1680x1050 native res., bluetooth, the works...
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Tulatin »

you can flash -e ones too, just a different bios is used. Nice results sabre, now if my GT (#1) had decent cooling, i could likely push 450 (420 on air, 435 on warmish water lol)
don'tknowmuch
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3730
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 4:47 pm
Location: Victoria,Vancouver Island, BC
Contact:

Post by don'tknowmuch »

My OC so far
Image
bond_bbs
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 9:09 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by bond_bbs »

the highest on my Leadtek A400 - 6800 NU, was from 325/700 stock to 412 (any higher and it drops out of everything, needs volt-mod) / 950. Made a healthy difference, especially since using RivaTuner to unlock did nothing.

As for benching it, the only score I remember was my Aquamark3 score.
Stock CPU/Vdocard 325/700: ~36000.
Stock CPU/Vdocard 412/950: ~48000.
CPU @ 2.3 (11x209) / Vdocard 412/950: ~56158.

Last time I checked the Arc, I was the 2nd fastest AthlonXP < 2.4ghz w/ a 6800. The guy beating me is unlocked though 16/6 pipes, and has a good 7K + lead..
Athlon X2 4600+
MSI K9N-SLI Platinum
4x1gb OCZ Gold DDR2-800
EVGA Geforce 8800GTS
WD 200g, 250g IDE
WD 320g, 500g SATA
LG H62L, Pioneer DVR212D
Tt XaserIII V2000A
User avatar
hunter1801
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
Posts: 1962
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:59 pm
Location: Orange County, California
Contact:

Post by hunter1801 »

still havnt goten the guts to OC mine. Hate to waste that much $$$ if somethin goes wrong.
HollowPoint69

Post by HollowPoint69 »

hunter1801 wrote:still havnt goten the guts to OC mine. Hate to waste that much $$$ if somethin goes wrong.
If it's PCI-Express, you can't. All the PCI-Express cards pipelines are unchangeable :(
User avatar
hunter1801
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
Posts: 1962
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:59 pm
Location: Orange County, California
Contact:

Post by hunter1801 »

Wait what?! I cant OC a PCI E vid card?
Post Reply