The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 7:59 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I'm such a liar!!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 10:25 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 7:43 pm
Posts: 6055
Although I could get my computer stable at 2.5GHz for the most part, it wasn't 100%. Everquest and Prime95 would crash, but only those 2. Everything else ran good, including HL2 and Far Cry.
So anyway, I finally took my own advice on overclocking and found out something. I really think the AMD 64's (at least the new ones) have a current limiter built in.
I first tested the LT bus and had no issues, games ran just fine. Next I bumped the memory to 250MHz and still stable too. I was even under rated voltage w/ 2.5-3-3-10 timings. So off to the CPU I went. 2.2GHz was stable at stock speeds. 2.3 GHz made prime95 fail almost exactly at 2 hours. Bumping the voltage up yielded successful results, had to go w/ 1.475V.
Next I tried 2.4GHz. 1.475 wouldn't work, so I tried many others: 1.5, 1.525, 1.55. 1.575, 1.6, 1.625, 1.65. I stopped there. That's a lot of voltage increase without any successful results. I do know it wasn't the memory or LT bus holding me back.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:39 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1970
Location: UK / Singapore
Is it possible that the limit simply is not affected by the power that is put into the CPU or the extra heat counteracts the extra voltage.

I don't see how they would put in a current limiter on the CPU.

_________________
I have now left the Building :tongue8:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 8:49 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 10:37 am
Posts: 1519
Location: lost in Georgia
That is an interesting and plausible hypothesis. I have noticed when oc'ing my s754, .130nm A64 3000+, the first time I tried oc'ing through the bios(not using clock gen) highest stable oc I could to achieve was 2.357ghz with a vCore of 1.53 and htt at 235.8. I then decided to bump up the vCore to 1.55, and set the htt to 237.7, getting a high stable oc of 2.377ghz, but that is the highest I have been able to achieve. Anything at 2.4ghz and above, no matter what voltage you pump into it, it is just not stable. I even opened back up clockgen to see if I could get a higher oc, but I couldn't get past 2.4ghz either. I believe my 3-3-3-8 Kingston Value Ram and cooling may be holding be back over your system Peanya, but it is interesting that you have the memory, power and a better hs/f and can't get it stable at 2.4ghz or higher.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 10:42 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 7:43 pm
Posts: 6055
I have my LDT bus at 255x4 and my memory at 255MHz w/ a multiplier of 9, and I'm rock solid stable, so clearly the CPU isn't clocking. Maybe it's just as far as it will go? Either way, I'm happy, it is faster than my P4C 3.4.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 12:43 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 10:37 am
Posts: 1519
Location: lost in Georgia
:mb_iagree:: :mb_woohoo::

It makes me wonder when Anandtech got their's above 2.4ghz how long they ran it for at that speed.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 1:35 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 7:43 pm
Posts: 6055
I can get it beyond that too, and I can even run games and many other apps. However Prime95 does crash after about 2 hours, and also EQ will crash (heck it'll crash with any system)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 5:27 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 10:37 am
Posts: 1519
Location: lost in Georgia
That is also weird that it crashes with Prime95. Prime95 must really pick up some minute errors that doesn't bother other apps.

Quote:
and also EQ will crash (heck it'll crash with any system)
True and SoE is no fun to deal with either :mb_pcmad:: , but I don't know if those problems have improved since I closed my EQ acct a couple of years ago.

It'll be interesting to see what other overclocker's will achieve, and how, on the s754 and s939 procs. I really wish their was a more detailed cpu database than the one over at overclockers.com. Some people have recorded overclocks of 2.5+ on the s754 .130nm Athlon64 3000+, but I question the validity of the posted results of some individuals. It would be nice to see a database showing results of s939 cpus.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 5:38 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1970
Location: UK / Singapore
That is exactly what hte prime95 torture test is good for, showing up the slightest bit of instability. It's not uncommon to have a computer that otherwise appears to be completly stable but prime95 picks out a problem.

_________________
I have now left the Building :tongue8:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group