Overclocking my Duron with the "Pencil Trick"

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Overclocking my Duron with the "Pencil Trick"

Postby pilot40874 » Thu May 23, 2002 1:05 pm

Hello all!

From what I've heard an AMD Duron seems to be able to run quite well at 900-950Mhz. What's the best procedure (given my motherboards limited FSB to overclock this chip? I believe my KT133 chipset only supports 100FSB, so although I do have a jumper on my FIC AZ31 (OEM version "UWAVE") motherboard, I don't think switching over to a 133Mhz FSB speed is what I want to do.

I found this technique referred to as the "Pencil Trick", but what about core voltage and my power supply? How do I change these as well?

I've never tried doing any of this before and I'm a newbie. I don't want to burn up my machine, but if I could get more speed for nearly free, I'll take it.

All comments welcome!

Thanks
Compaq Presario 5WV254 (FIC AZ31 motherboard, OEM version)
AMD Duron 700Mhz - stock clock
VIA Apollo KT133/686A chipset
nVidia GeForce4 Ti4200
250w pcu
yada, yada, yada....
pilot40874
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Postby Aibohphobia » Fri May 24, 2002 2:05 am

okay some tips:
it's pretty hard to fry a computer without touching it, just keep an eye on system temps if your motherboard supports it.